BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Bradley Smokers => The Digital Smokers (BTDS76P & BTDS108P) => Topic started by: Michael on April 26, 2009, 02:26:50 pm

Title: E1 Error Message
Post by: Michael on April 26, 2009, 02:26:50 pm
The last several times I have used the BS I immediately get an error message (beeping sound and flashing E1) as soon as I plug it in to the outlet.  I unplug and re-plug the cords and eventually it behaves itself.  When I unplug the power cord at the outlet and plug it back in it won't reset and will continue to give the error message.  Today when it gave me the error message I unplugged the power source at the generator and then plugged it back in and it worked fine. 

I did a search here and found someone else had the same problem and it was suggested the rails where the puck slides might need cleaning.  I scrape mine clean with a putty knife after each use, so I don't think that is the problem.  I push the various cords in as far as they will go each time I use the unit so I should be getting good connections.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: NePaSmoKer on April 26, 2009, 02:30:25 pm
Here is the link that tells you about the E & E1 errors.

http://bradleysmoker.com/qanda.asp#4

nepas
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Mr Walleye on April 26, 2009, 05:54:42 pm
Michael

Usually the E1 error is associated to the sensor wire. It's the small wire that runs from the generator to the tower. Try unplugging it from both and reverse it, then plug it back in. Usually it's just a bad connection at the plug.

Mike
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Michael on April 26, 2009, 09:16:56 pm
Thanks for the information.  -Mike
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: smokinpat on May 02, 2010, 12:02:14 pm
I had the same problem, turned out the plug end that goes into the smoke generator needed to be cleaned (it had gotten some smoke residual on it)
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: classicrockgriller on May 02, 2010, 12:13:57 pm
Hiya smokinpat and Welcome to the Forum.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: watchdog56 on May 03, 2010, 04:24:04 am
That happens to me once in a while but if I wiggle the sensor cord it goes away.I think there is a bad connection in the cord from what I found out. Luckily I have another cord I use for cold smoking and I have had no problem with it.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Michael on May 15, 2010, 01:35:46 pm
I'm smoking a couple of pork shoulders today and as soon as I turned on the oven I got the error message as usual.  I jiggled the sensor wire and it immediately solved the problem.  I love easy fixes..... 
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on May 15, 2010, 01:40:10 pm
I'm smoking a couple of pork shoulders today and as soon as I turned on the oven I got the error message as usual.  I jiggled the sensor wire and it immediately solved the problem.  I love easy fixes..... 

If that is happening frequently, check the plug and connectors to make sure there is no plastic residue in the plug or on the connectors. A good cleaning with alchol may also help.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: tim_ny on May 29, 2010, 12:23:34 pm
FYI in case this happens to anybody else, I failed to realize that you guys were talking about the little sensor wire that goes between the generator and the box, I kept checking and jiggling the power connector between the two and no dice. Then I realized I had totally forgotten to put the little wire in, the sensor or whatever you call it. D'oh.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: classicrockgriller on May 29, 2010, 09:05:41 pm
tim_ny, We can remember everything everytime. ;D

Welcome to the Forum!
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: HopHead on October 24, 2010, 05:46:41 pm
Can you guys tell me what color the sensor wire is on your unit?  My unit is less than 2 years old and I am receiving the E1 error.  I do not see any wires where the ends could be swapped.  Do any of you have internal electrical drawings for these smokers?

Thanks
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Tenpoint5 on October 24, 2010, 06:44:00 pm
Can you guys tell me what color the sensor wire is on your unit?  My unit is less than 2 years old and I am receiving the E1 error.  I do not see any wires where the ends could be swapped.  Do any of you have internal electrical drawings for these smokers?

Thanks

Hophead it it the Black wire that plugs into the back of the S/G and the Smoker. Has ends like a pair of stereo headphones. It is on the outside of the unit.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on October 25, 2010, 01:01:32 am
Can you guys tell me what color the sensor wire is on your unit?  My unit is less than 2 years old and I am receiving the E1 error.  I do not see any wires where the ends could be swapped.  Do any of you have internal electrical drawings for these smokers?

Thanks

Hi welcome to the forum.

As 10.5 pointed it is the black wire with the stereo (RCA) plugs. The plugs are the same on both ends, swapping the wires means unplugging the wire, rotate the wire 180 degrees and reconnect them. That way the end that was originally plugged into the cabinet is not plugged into the generator, and the end that was originally plugged into the generator is plugged into the cabinet. This sometimes makes a better connection.

Here is a link to the E-1 error:
E-1 Error (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?488-Answers-To-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=761#post761)
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: foodog on May 30, 2011, 02:42:36 pm
Its been a long winter, and finally found a great weekend to fire up the smoker - and got the dreaded E1 error. Had to do a little troubleshooting, confirmed the sensor cable was good - and measured the resistance on the sensor - and noticed the sensor measured opened at the connector jack.

So - pulled off the back metal plate of the unit, and found the center pin on the back side of the plug unit had broken off somehow. I attempted to repair the plug unit, and opted to simply solder a longer extension cable and connector to effectively replace the sensor cable.

This fixed the E1 error.

Foodog
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on May 31, 2011, 01:30:56 am
Hi Foodog;
Welcome to the forum.

Nice job in trouble shooting, and fixing the problem.

For those who do not have solder skills, that part is also replaceable.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Beerepair on June 25, 2011, 10:00:07 am
 HELP- Hello, just set up my brand new 4 rack digital smoker, (received as Father's Day Gift!), right out of box-  keep getting E1 error messages, swapped  sensor wire around 4 X's and machine still reads E1, checked fuse-OK, plugged and replugged power cords -no good, still get E1 :(
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Beerepair on June 27, 2011, 11:05:51 am
Hello- Self reply to my previous E1 message :P, opened up digital box, after checking and switching sensor wire several times, checked  plug and wiring continuity, OK-----gently unplugged sensor wire lead,(inside digital box-about 6" - from socket), found one of the 'micro ' spade connectors , was not fully pushed / locked into the push/ pull connector- machine works great !!, Bradley needs to do some quality control , before these machines leave the factory.  :D 
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on June 28, 2011, 01:29:27 am
Hi Beerepair;

Welcome to the forum. Glad to read you resolved your problem.

If you haven't seen it yet the below link is helpful in troubleshooting, and has serveral tips:
Bradley FAQ's (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?481-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=748#post748)
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: mikecorn.1 on July 10, 2011, 12:04:43 pm
Hello fellow members. Since Im having the same problem, hope yall dont mind me posting on this post. After 3 years of flawless performance my digital bradley is giving me the ole E1 error. Last week it was doing it right away and i swaped the small cord around and it went just fine after that. Today it did the same and i unplugged and plug and it worked for a while. After a while, i went outside to mow and heard the dreaded beep and E1 error again. I noticed that the puck advancer was jammed, a puck that was in there somehow jacked up. i took the smoker off and took the pucks out and re-put them in and it worked fine again. Later on towards the end of my smoke, the E1 error came back and this time it went crazy and it pushed all the remaining puck out. This is the one that is throwing me for a loop. What could of happened. any suggestions.  ???
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on July 10, 2011, 01:02:33 pm
It could be the sensor wire, or you still can have something blocking the bisquettes from fully advancing.

Here is a tip that often works;
E-1 Error (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?488-Answers-To-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=761#post761)

Also over time the connectors get dirty. Cleaning the connectors on the wires, and at the base of the connection on the back of the cabinet and generator may help.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: mikecorn.1 on July 10, 2011, 04:45:50 pm
Hello Habs.  ive tried everything to correct the problem. Wires are all connected. All ends are clean. Nothing is jammed in the puck advancer. Now the dreaded E error is back and the pucks will not stop advancing. I read up some more on this and it says it might be the micro switch right by the drive arm to the advancer. The little gray rectangular box with the black switch on it. How hard is to replace and how can I get one. Thanks for any help.  

Just took the smoker and tower apart, I checked every wire and made sure they were all connected good. I depresed the micro switch a couple of times and put everything back together. I connect the smoker to the tower and everything is working fine. I turned the smoker on and off a few times and everything seems ok. My concern is that this is what happened to me last week. What i dont like is the surprise E error in the middle of a smoke. What do you think could be causing this. Should i go ahead and change out the micro switch, maybe the cord that goes to the temp sensor or even the tem sensor wire behind the tower. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Anyone that you could pass this along to that might have some feedback would also be appreciated. Nothing like having the family over for some ribs and yard bird legs and you get the dreaded E while you're showing off  Bradley.Thanks in advance.   ;D
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Bradley (Head Office) on July 10, 2011, 07:37:03 pm
Hi Mike

The only things that will give you an E error is the motor or most of the time the micro switch.

First, make sure that the wires to the switch are connected and firmly seated into the connector. Take the connection apart and check the pins inside the connector for corrosion.

Secondly make sure nothing is blocking that switch and the motor arm.

The motor should stop when the brass arms on the motor depress the black button on the switch.

If the motor continues to advance the motor needs to be moved closer to the switch by losing the two mounting screws and moving the motor closer to the switch we are taking fraction of an inch here.

If the motor continues to turn you have a defective Internal Advance Switch

The switch is not to hard to change you just need a pair of real small hands. ;D

Brian.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on July 11, 2011, 01:23:31 am
I hope Brian has you up and running by now. I thought Yard & Pool sold the micro switch, but I didn't see it listed on their site. You may have to call Bradley to get one.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: mikecorn.1 on July 11, 2011, 10:02:22 am
Thanks for the quick response. I did check everything. Nothing in the way and nothing is corroded. I would venture to say that it is the micro switch. What puzzled me yesterday was that it did it right in the middle of the smoking cycle. I didnt check the the time to see if maybe it did it in the process of pushing another puck cause i was freeking out.  ;D How do i go about getting a micro switch. thanks again.
Hi Mike

The only things that will give you an E error is the motor or most of the time the micro switch.

First, make sure that the wires to the switch are connected and firmly seated into the connector. Take the connection apart and check the pins inside the connector for corrosion.

Secondly make sure nothing is blocking that switch and the motor arm.

The motor should stop when the brass arms on the motor depress the black button on the switch.

If the motor continues to advance the motor needs to be moved closer to the switch by losing the two mounting screws and moving the motor closer to the switch we are taking fraction of an inch here.

If the motor continues to turn you have a defective Internal Advance Switch

The switch is not to hard to change you just need a pair of real small hands. ;D

Brian.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: mikecorn.1 on July 11, 2011, 10:03:42 am
I hope Brian has you up and running by now. I thought Yard & Pool sold the micro switch, but I didn't see it listed on their site. You may have to call Bradley to get one.

Gracias senor Habs.  ;D
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: velsom on December 30, 2017, 04:24:01 pm
Hi, I just purchased The Bradley 4 tray digital smoker, plugged it all in and received this E-1 error code and a constant beeping.    I have tried jiggling the sensor wire, swapped it around, and unplugged the power at the generator.  It stops for a few seconds and starts up again.  Any suggestions? 
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: Habanero Smoker on December 31, 2017, 02:19:50 am
Hi velsom;

Welcome to the forum

The only other troubleshooting tips I can think of is to make sure that there is nothing blocking either connection ie: such as loose chips, dust. Sometimes there is some plastic residue left after manufacturing. Using a piece of steel wool or super fine sandpaper to clean the ends of your sensor cable, and the receptacle connectors. If that doesn't work, you may have a bad cable, and it will need to be replaced.

Check for cracks in the wire. If you have a multimeter, check each connection using the continuity test.
Title: Re: E1 Error Message
Post by: darkswitch155 on January 07, 2018, 07:56:59 am
If temps are too cold the smoker will show this error. I put a pot of boiling water in the smoker , waited 15mins then the error code was gone. Tested this today, I live on Michigan and it was a freezing 14F today. I have a digital 4 rack bradley, also didnt have any issues getting the smoker up to temp.