BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Bradley Smokers => The Black Bradley Smoker (BTIS1) => Topic started by: jack and coke on February 23, 2011, 09:06:21 AM

Title: how to change heating element
Post by: jack and coke on February 23, 2011, 09:06:21 AM
got 2 elements from bradley last night.  haven't really looked how to take the old one out and the new one in.

any tips, pics, pointers would help before i try this later tonight. 

thank you.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: smoker pete on February 23, 2011, 09:24:36 AM
Here is what I used

http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?572-Additional-Heating-Element-Modification (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?572-Additional-Heating-Element-Modification)
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on February 23, 2011, 12:51:57 PM
Here is a copy of the instructions Brian posted some time back. I was getting ready to post it in the FAQ section of the recipe site.


Replacing the heat element is a fairly easy task.

Start by UNPLUGING THE SMOKER FROM THE WALL OUTLET
Open the smoker door and remove the four Phillip's head screws (two in each side of the white porcelain insulators)

Take a good look as to how the wire guard and reflector are installed and remove them. If you have a digital camera take a picture of how it is assembled prior to removing them.

Gently pull the heat element out slightly about 1 inch or so (don't pull to far or you will pull the wires off the plug in the rear of the tower)

Remove the nut on each end of the heat element and remove the element.

To install the new element reverse the above steps.

BE CAREFULL WHEN TIGHTENING THE SCREWS ON THE INSULATORS THEY ONLY NEED TO BE SNUG.
If your new element does not work double check that you didn't pull a wire off the back plug.

Brian.
 
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: smoker pete on February 23, 2011, 01:29:27 PM
got 2 elements from bradley last night.  haven't really looked how to take the old one out and the new one in.

Ooops ... My bad!!  I saw "... got 2 elements ..." and made the presumption that you wanted to modify you smoker for dual elements :-[
 
Hab has you covered.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Huskersteel on February 23, 2011, 05:11:59 PM
I too have to replace a burnt out element.  I am waiting for it to show from Bradley so I can reinstall the new one.  If I did happen to pull the wires too hard and disconnected them from the plug in the back of the tower how hard is it to reattach them?  Do I have to remove the back of he tower to gain access?  Thanks.  Also Habs I am thinking of installing a second element with the switch could you pm me and give me your number so I could contact you personally? 
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on February 24, 2011, 01:24:32 AM
I too have to replace a burnt out element.  I am waiting for it to show from Bradley so I can reinstall the new one.  If I did happen to pull the wires too hard and disconnected them from the plug in the back of the tower how hard is it to reattach them?  Do I have to remove the back of he tower to gain access?  Thanks.  Also Habs I am thinking of installing a second element with the switch could you pm me and give me your number so I could contact you personally? 

There is a good deal of slack in the wires so there is little chance of pulling too far to disconnect the wiring from the back. If that does happen the hardest part is removing the screws from the back panel. If one or more of the wire is disconnected you just plug the connector back into place.

I'll respond to your email with my phone number.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: jack and coke on February 24, 2011, 04:40:26 AM
new element is installed and working. 

thanks for all the help. 

hope this one last longer than 6 smokes. 

Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Huskersteel on February 24, 2011, 06:53:33 AM
Thanks Habs,  Got it and I will give you a call this weekend.  Must have been a rash of burnouts as I am still awaiting the element from Bradley.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: jack and coke on February 24, 2011, 08:00:17 AM
mine took about 8-9 days to get here
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Huskersteel on February 24, 2011, 10:28:25 AM
J&C,  Just got off the phone with Bradley and they said it is on the way.  Looking forward to some smoking this weekend.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Reboot on March 19, 2011, 10:24:14 AM
Mine just burned up too - so bummed I can't smoke this weekend.  I got the same excuse from Bradley about there being a "bad batch" but c'mon; these things seem to burn up ALOT. 

Are the replacement ones they send out any better than the originals?  I'm curious if there's any way to repair these heating elements or maybe get a comparable replacement form somewhere like a Home Depot or appliance store.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: garbadee on March 20, 2011, 06:18:19 AM
My element is apparently burned out too.  At least it let me finish 2 butts and 2 racks of ribs first.

So I was looking and did not see a troubleshooting section.  Is there a troubleshooting section on the Forum?

Also, as a side bar, I want to upgrade to the dual element anyway.  At this point it seems logical to buy a whole new assembly including the reflector.  Anyone sell a preassembled "kit" so I can just plug and play?

Ed
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: TedEbear on March 20, 2011, 07:36:57 AM
So I was looking and did not see a troubleshooting section.  Is there a troubleshooting section on the Forum?

Also, as a side bar, I want to upgrade to the dual element anyway.  At this point it seems logical to buy a whole new assembly including the reflector.  Anyone sell a preassembled "kit" so I can just plug and play?

Ed

From reading your other element failure post it appears that you already did the troubleshooting by plugging in the power source directly into the cabinet.  Since the power light is on that means the 10A inline fuse in the cabinet isn't blown.

There's no dual element kit that I'm aware of.  The how-to instructions posted elsewhere are easy to follow.  I added a second element to mine recently.  One suggestion I have is to use a cone shaped bit to cut the holes in the reflector for the second element so the thin metal won't tear.  The holes needs to be approximately 9/16" and I used a regular drill bit until I got it to about 3/8".

Also, the how-to says to route the high temp wires to the back of the cabinet, where you have two wires on each side passing through the back of the cooking chamber.  I just did a short 4" or so loop of wire from the second element to the first one. Really no need to go further than that.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on March 20, 2011, 01:14:28 PM
There is a trouble shooting section on the recipe site;
Bradley FAQ's (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?481-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=748#post748)

Additional Element & Other Mods:
User Modifications (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?27-Bradley-Accessories-User-Modifications)
Additional Info on Additional Element (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=16299.msg197771#msg197771)

Recipes (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?180-Our-Time-Tested-and-Proven-Recipes)
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: GusRobin on March 20, 2011, 05:25:07 PM
Also, the how-to says to route the high temp wires to the back of the cabinet, where you have two wires on each side passing through the back of the cooking chamber.  I just did a short 4" or so loop of wire from the second element to the first one. Really no need to go further than that.

I did mine the way it stated in the mod instructions rather then connect directly to the first element because I wanted the ability to cook with only one element if I wanted to. It saved me when I had to send the PID for repair. I was able to use the dual elements to get to temp, shut off the second element and use the temp slider to conrol the one element. I would recommend doing the extra switch, as it is a good feature to have and easy to install when you have the thing apart anyway.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: thirtydaZe on March 21, 2011, 09:50:59 AM

Also, the how-to says to route the high temp wires to the back of the cabinet, where you have two wires on each side passing through the back of the cooking chamber.  I just did a short 4" or so loop of wire from the second element to the first one. Really no need to go further than that.


just a simple daisy chain?

can you elaborate more on how you did this?
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: TedEbear on March 21, 2011, 10:06:17 AM
just a simple daisy chain?

can you elaborate more on how you did this?

There's not a whole lot to it.  It is wired in parallel, the same as when the second element wire is extended all the way out to the plug on the back of the cabinet, like in the how-to. I just connected each wire that came off the second element to the end of the original element via a short 4 inch or so piece of high temp wire that I bought from an appliance store.  The two primary element wires are the only ones that pass through the cooking chamber back wall.

I crimped an uninsulated ring terminal on each end of the wire, attached one end to the second element and the other end to the first element.  I used a Dremel to carve a little groove in the porcelain insulators for the wire to pass through.  I believe it mentions this part in the how-to.

Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: thirtydaZe on March 21, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
so essentially positive to positive and negative to negative?

has this given you any problems?  i had asked about this one time on the forum and someone thought against the idea.

seems like the simple solution.  i run my smoker with a pid so i can't really see why there would be an issue running 1000w.

thanks for your post.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on March 21, 2011, 12:55:47 PM
Just something to consider. The Bradley was not build to handle 1000 watts at one time, so there is some question as to whether on not the temperature control switch can frequently handle 1000 watts. Although you have the PID to control the end temperature, the PID will run the appliance at full capacity until the desired temperature is reached.

Another thing to consider, is the second switch. As Gus pointed out it does come in handy.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: TedEbear on March 21, 2011, 05:22:22 PM
so essentially positive to positive and negative to negative?

has this given you any problems?  i had asked about this one time on the forum and someone thought against the idea.

I've used mine 4-5 times so far since I added the second element and no problems.  The total current draw for the 1000W 'bank' of elements is 8.3A.  That's not counting the 125W smoke generator element, which would add approximately 1A more.  Other things such as the PID controller and puck advance motor draw a minuscule amount of current and will not have any significant influence in the overall power requirements.  The link to this wire capacity chart (http://www.rowand.net/shop/tech/wirecapacitychart.htm) for basic circuits shows that 18 ga wire size is good for up to 10A.

On mine I removed the 10A inline fuse that was in the back of the cabinet but I kept the high temp sensor as a safety item.  I replaced the 10A fuse in the SG box with a 15A.  Everything goes through it first (SG, PID, elements). 

I do suggest installing a PID controller to anyone who is thinking about adding a second element.  I mine inside the SG but I wanted to keep things externally simple. Thus, I didn't add a bunch of extra switches, lights, etc. to make it look like a space shuttle control console.   :)  There is a simple on/off LED rocker switch added for the PID power and that's it.  You said you have one so you're covered.

Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: thirtydaZe on March 22, 2011, 11:13:47 AM
Just something to consider. The Bradley was not build to handle 1000 watts at one time, so there is some question as to whether on not the temperature control switch can frequently handle 1000 watts. Although you have the PID to control the end temperature, the PID will run the appliance at full capacity until the desired temperature is reached.

Another thing to consider, is the second switch. As Gus pointed out it does come in handy.

when i use my DBS with my PID all i turn on is the SG portion.  the side that runs the tower is never tyurned on.  so essentially my PID is doing all the work for the heating element, and the SG is just doing the puck heater.

the 1000w shouldn't affect anything in that case should it, as the PID is doing all the contrilling???
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on March 23, 2011, 01:35:57 AM
I don't have the digital so I can't answer your question. The concern is with the OBS. It is not the wiring that I am referring to that may not withstand continuous 1000w. It is the circuit board that use as the rheostat to control the amount of power to the element. Some have by past the wiring to the circuit board.

Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: TedEbear on March 23, 2011, 09:15:43 AM
On mine the rheostat no longer controls anything.  I took it out of the circuit when I added the PID controller. I kept the little light that is next to it to still come on when the heating elements are being energized, like it did originally.

Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: PrairieSailor on April 06, 2011, 09:15:08 AM
Thanks for all this info.  Still waiting after almost 3 weeks for my replacement.  This is very sad.  For this many failures, and such a lengthy time to get the parts. 
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on April 07, 2011, 02:09:04 AM
Thanks for all this info.  Still waiting after almost 3 weeks for my replacement.  This is very sad.  For this many failures, and such a lengthy time to get the parts. 

If the parts are coming from Bradley, most receive their parts within 4 days. I would make a follow up call, the parts may have been lost in shipment or maybe sent to a wrong address.
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: wyoduke on April 07, 2011, 05:50:28 AM
Thanks for all this info.  Still waiting after almost 3 weeks for my replacement.  This is very sad.  For this many failures, and such a lengthy time to get the parts. 

If the parts are coming from Bradley, most receive their parts within 4 days. I would make a follow up call, the parts may have been lost in shipment or maybe sent to a wrong address.
Habs i think they are on back-order right now .
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Tenpoint5 on April 07, 2011, 07:07:37 AM
The last I heard they were taking all of the possibly bad elements out of inventory. So I am guessing the manufacturer is late in delivering the new ones for customer warranty replacement!
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Sam3 on January 03, 2012, 02:10:20 PM
Sorry to bring up an old thread, but this is an informative thread. I purchased my OBS in March 2011, so maybe that's why I only got 8 uses out of the element. I didn't bother with Bradley customer service and just ordered 2 new ones from yard and pool. I should have them by the weekend.
I was also curious as to how to replace the element. Thanks Hab for the info!
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on January 04, 2012, 01:30:24 AM
Here are the instructions for changing the element:

How to change the heating element. (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?488-Answers-To-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=1173#post1173)
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Sam3 on January 04, 2012, 03:10:22 AM
Here are the instructions for changing the element:

How to change the heating element. (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?488-Answers-To-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=1173#post1173)

Thanks Hab, I just registered over there. Alot of great info!
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: nitrous on July 16, 2012, 07:38:00 PM
so essentially positive to positive and negative to negative?

has this given you any problems?  i had asked about this one time on the forum and someone thought against the idea.

seems like the simple solution.  i run my smoker with a pid so i can't really see why there would be an issue running 1000w.

thanks for your post.

For the record,
The bradley is an A/C system so there is no "Positive to Positive" etc.
It is good to keep the hot and neutral wires correct, but the element is not polarized so it doesn't matter how you hook it up, so long as you do it in a parallel fashion, rather than series.
Doug
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: nitrous on July 17, 2012, 04:28:01 PM
How often does the inline fuse fail?
Is it safe to assume that if the thermistor failed, the smoker wouldn't work?
Doug
Title: Re: how to change heating element
Post by: Habanero Smoker on July 18, 2012, 01:59:00 AM
I'm not sure how often the in-line fuse fails. If the thermistor fails the unit should shut down the heating element and generator, and display an "E-1" error.