BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Consumables and Accessories => Accessories => Topic started by: Kitchen Commander on September 27, 2011, 07:55:30 am

Title: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: Kitchen Commander on September 27, 2011, 07:55:30 am
Just got my Bradley original yesterday and seasoned it last night.  I also picked up the Maverick ET-732 wireless thermometer.  I'm planning on adding the PID some time in the not to distant future.

I noticed on the Auber web site, they have 2 controllers for the Bradley.  One with a single probe for monitoring/controlling temperature of the smoke compartment only and another with dual probes for monitoring/controlling smoker temperature and temperature of meat.

Since I've already got a device for monitoring the meat temperature, is it overkill to get the dual probe PID, or is the extra control worth the extra $43.50 for the dual probe?  I don't mind spending the extra if a lot of folks think it's worth it.  I'm a gadget nut anyhow.  Friends are a little surprized that I use an infared thermometer when I grill to make sure my grates are the right temp for searing and grilling.

Thanks all  ;)
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: squirtthecat on September 27, 2011, 08:08:36 am

What the dual probe Auber gives you is the ability to program the heating temperature/times based on temperatures measured by the 2nd probe.

As in,  "heat at 225° until the meat probe registers 195°, then reduce smoker temperature to 180°".

It can get a lot more complex than that as well, for ramping temperatures for sausage, etc.

(I just have the single probe Auber)
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: Kitchen Commander on September 27, 2011, 08:11:22 am
Now that sounds like some awesome control!  That's got me leaning towards the dual probe so far.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: squirtthecat on September 27, 2011, 08:12:59 am

I think it can even control the smoke generator...     Others will have to chime in on that.

It's definitely a powerful little gizmo.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TestRocket on September 27, 2011, 08:21:43 am
What squirt said! You won’t regret it!  ;D
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: Kitchen Commander on September 27, 2011, 08:30:11 am
Another nod towards the dual probe.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: devo on September 27, 2011, 08:35:23 am
Dual probe all the way. And Auber stands behind their product also.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: muebe on September 27, 2011, 09:03:48 am
I have the dual-probe and as squirt said it does control the Bradley in each step(there are 6) by IT temp or time. It can also shut the unit down or go into a warming temp when your meat reaches the temp.

For example you can program it to run at 225F until the IT of the butt is 195F. Then when the butt is at a IT of 195F it can shut down or drop the cabinet temp down to say 150F to keep it warm in case you cannot pull it out right away.

It can also control the smoke generator. You can set two steps that activate the smoke generator by time or IT of meat.

For example you can set step one to pre-heat the cabinet temp to 225F. Then once that is reached you can have step two as your smoke program. Then after step two is over by temp or time it will shut off the generator. You can even have it come back on later in the smoke. There is a lot of control and IMHO worth the extra money ;D

Just remember to get the hanging temp probe and not the wall mounted one ;)
Title: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: RFT on September 27, 2011, 09:17:56 am
DuAl probe.
I got the wall mount probe.   
What would be the pro's and cons between the 2?


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=47.499423,-120.297427
Title: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: mikecorn.1 on September 27, 2011, 01:45:26 pm
I got the dual probe free hanging.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: GusRobin on September 27, 2011, 07:59:40 pm
DuAl probe.
I got the wall mount probe.   
What would be the pro's and cons between the 2?
---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=47.499423,-120.297427
With the hanging probe you can put the probe at the lowest rack with meat. The probe doesn't get in the way as the wall mount does. I ended up removing the wall probe, closing up of the hole and using it as a hanging probe. I then ended up buying a new hanging probe.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: Karaokegod01 on October 03, 2011, 02:03:21 pm
Anyone have a link or something where I can purchase a pid and general prices
Title: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: mikecorn.1 on October 03, 2011, 02:42:25 pm
Anyone have a link or something where I can purchase a pid and general prices
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=8&products_id=151&zenid=7c9be2360f0750dadaac53751a407ce8 (http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=8&products_id=151&zenid=7c9be2360f0750dadaac53751a407ce8)

This is for the dual PID. You can also see the others they offer by navigating in the link.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TedEbear on October 04, 2011, 09:01:39 pm
Anyone have a link or something where I can purchase a pid and general prices

Here's a link to the Auber 1/16 DIN PID Temperature Controller (SSR control output) (http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=3&zenid=7c9be2360f0750dadaac53751a407ce8) for $45.50. I have one installed in my SG box in the pic below.

(http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b355/roadijeff/Miscellaneous/P1160272.jpg)

Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: Kitchen Commander on October 04, 2011, 09:37:19 pm
Anyone have a link or something where I can purchase a pid and general prices

Here's a link to the Auber 1/16 DIN PID Temperature Controller (SSR control output) (http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=3&zenid=7c9be2360f0750dadaac53751a407ce8) for $45.50. I have one installed in my SG box in the pic below.

(http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b355/roadijeff/Miscellaneous/P1160272.jpg)

That looks great! My compliments. How does it wire in?
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TedEbear on October 07, 2011, 10:27:29 am
I found a "how-to" article here on the forums on doing the installation.  Basically, you're bypassing the slider temp controller and letting the PID do the work.  You need a PID, an SSR, a heat sink, a K-type TC and a few miscellaneous parts.  Auber sells most of everything you need.

Sounds like a lot of work but it wasn't all that difficult and compared to spending nearly $200 for a dual proble plug-n-play the cost is quite appealing.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: muebe on October 07, 2011, 10:47:18 am
Also Auberins has a PID that I use for my Traeger that has a built-in relay. The relay can handle up to 10amps at 120V. The 900w finned element uses 7.5 amps so this PID can handle the single, dual, or finned element setup. With this PID you would not need to buy the SSR. You would just need the thermocouple and PID.

Here is the PID...

http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=1

And here is the thermocouple...

http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=20_3&products_id=101

The PID will be wired to the incoming power and then the element power wires will be wired directly to the relay on the PID. There is also a alarm relay that can handle 3amps that could be used to control the smoke generator power. You can set the alarm to turn on the smoke generator after the cabinet gets to a set temp.

Not having to by a SSR allows for a more simple installation and a cheaper out of pocket cost.

I have a the dual probe and am very happy with all the options I have with it. Otherwise I would have done this setup but having the ability to ramp up or down temps by IT or time is a nice feature. It is all about what your trying to do. If you just want stable temps with a clean installation then this is the way to go.

If you want plug n play installation and great control options with your Bradley then the dual probe is the way to go ;D
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TedEbear on October 07, 2011, 11:51:29 am
With this PID you would not need to buy the SSR. You would just need the thermocouple and PID.

With the way the PID cycles the power on/off thousands of times during a cook session to maintain a 2-3 degree temp fluctuation from the setpoint I have to wonder how long a mechanical relay would last versus an SSR. That's the reason I went the SSR route.

Anyway, here's the "how-to" I found that I pretty much followed when installing my PID in the SG box.  The instructions are based on using a project box but he has some pics near the end showing others who installed it in the SG.

PID Controller Installation (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?315-PID-Controller)
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: muebe on October 07, 2011, 12:09:40 pm
With this PID you would not need to buy the SSR. You would just need the thermocouple and PID.

With the way the PID cycles the power on/off thousands of times during a cook session to maintain a 2-3 degree temp fluctuation from the setpoint I have to wonder how long a mechanical relay would last versus an SSR. That's the reason I went the SSR route.

Anyway, here's the "how-to" I found that I pretty much followed when installing my PID in the SG box.  The instructions are based on using a project box but he has some pics near the end showing others who installed it in the SG.

PID Controller Installation (http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?315-PID-Controller)

That is a good point Ted.

The one problem with SSR's is that the more load they have the more heat they generate. This excessive heat can shorten a SSR's lifespan. So being located inside a small housing like that on a hot summer day might cause some excessive wear on the SSR. Personally I would mount the SSR on the outside of the housing with a heatsink. Especially if you have dual or 900w element. Or install a DC computer fan in the housing to circulate air and keep the SSR cool.

I guess there are pros and cons to both SSR and relay setup.

$15 more dollars for a SSR and $10 for a heatsink is not that much more
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TedEbear on October 07, 2011, 12:15:30 pm
Personally I would mount the SSR on the outside of the housing with a heatsink.

That's sort of what I did with my SSR in the SG box. I cut out a hole in the back for the heatsink to stick out to the outside air.  I think there are some similar pics of how someone else did his in that how-to article.  I salvaged a heatsink off some old PC components that someone was tossing away at work, so that part of it was a freebie.

I'll post a pic of my heatsink setup after I get home later today.
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: muebe on October 07, 2011, 12:23:44 pm
Ted one other thing to be aware of about a SSR is that they can and do fail in the closed position unlike a mechanical relay. This can be a bad situation with a runaway heating element. It is very important to mention that people do not remove or by-pass their temperature safety switch. If you do not have a safety switch in line with the SSR power and the SSR fails closed than that will not be a good situation at all :o

And the Bradley Auberins single and dual PID's use SSR relays so everyone keep that in mind ;)
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: TedEbear on October 07, 2011, 05:52:49 pm
Yes, I kept the high temp sensor in the circuit.  I removed the 10A inline fuse but I replaced it with a 15A fuse in the SG box since I have two 500W elements.  I also have my Maverick ET-732 set to sound an alarm if the cabinet temp reaches 250*F.  Here's a pic of the heatsink on the back of the SG box from earlier today:

(http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b355/roadijeff/Miscellaneous/PA070029.jpg)

Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: muebe on October 07, 2011, 07:53:38 pm
Ted nice job with the heatsink. A small computer fan on it would work good ;D
Title: Re: Dual probe or single probe auber PID
Post by: kcarmich on July 09, 2016, 09:26:42 am
I have opted for the 1800W dual probe version, which allows me to use it in more applications, including sous vide cooking since my smoker runs only when the salmon do.