BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Consumables and Accessories => Accessories => Topic started by: dtjim on February 09, 2013, 03:17:41 PM

Title: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 09, 2013, 03:17:41 PM
I have the original bradley 4 rack and just got an auber dual probe. I finally figured out how to program it except for the smoke generator. I dont understand why i can only have it come on for 2 steps. wouldnt it help for heat recovery when rotating racks to have that element on all the time? It comes programmed to only turn on during the first step so how do i change it to at least stay on for 2 steps if not all the time?
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 09, 2013, 04:26:21 PM
Here is a little tutorial for the PID

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=18346.0 (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=18346.0)

To answer your question directly, hit the set button and hold it until "LCK" appears on the screen. Then go to the + - buttons and hold the + until you get to 166 on the screen. Hit the set button until to get to r1. Here you set the cycle that you the smoke generator to run the first time. When you set that, you can set R2 to the cycle you want it to come on the second time.

If you have more than 2 cycles and want the SG on all the time, plug the SG directly into an outlet rather than the PID.

Just curious what you are cooking that you need to have the extra heat and multiple cycles? What I mean is that most stuff like butts, chicken, brisket etc, I usually have one long cycle or 2 at the most. So there isn't an issue. For things like sausage (and I assume fish is the same) I use multiple cycles but since I am at lower temps, I wouldn't think you need the extra heat from the SG.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 07:02:27 AM
im doing some jerky and i wanna smoke for 3 hours. gonna cook 2 hrs at 140 with no smoke for the first hour and the 150 for an hour and then 160 for an hour and then 170 till done. so i would need 3 steps for the sg. Its 25F degrees where im at so i like to have the generator on all the time to help with heat recovery when i rotate the racks. I should have ordered the extra power cord with my pid so i could plug it right into the outlet but i didnt know at the time that the pid was set up like that. Does anybody know the power requirements for the cord so i can get one.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: devo on February 10, 2013, 07:51:21 AM
I think all you need is a computer power cord but I could be wrong. I'm sure if I am someone will let us know  ::)
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 10, 2013, 08:21:08 AM
im doing some jerky and i wanna smoke for 3 hours. gonna cook 2 hrs at 140 with no smoke for the first hour and the 150 for an hour and then 160 for an hour and then 170 till done. so i would need 3 steps for the sg. Its 25F degrees where im at so i like to have the generator on all the time to help with heat recovery when i rotate the racks. I should have ordered the extra power cord with my pid so i could plug it right into the outlet but i didnt know at the time that the pid was set up like that. Does anybody know the power requirements for the cord so i can get one.

Yes I believe a computer cord is all you need.
Have you done jerky before? The reason I ask Is you may have enough heat to maintain temps without the SG. I have added the second element so I am not in familiar territory here, but I would think the single element should be enough.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: drano on February 10, 2013, 08:28:00 AM
If you have the old style OBS, the smoke generator should plug directly into a wall outlet.  Mine does. 
Not sure how the new version (BS611) smoke generator is wired. 

If you're just running the smoke generator, an 18 ga cord will work.  But I always like running heavier cord if I can.
Amazon has computer cords, and if you search, you can find heavier gauge versions. 
Typical computer CPU power cord plugs are NEMA 515P for plugging into the wall, and IEC320C13 (or simply C13) is the male end that plugs into the back of the computer.
IEC320C14 (or C14) would be the female counterpart to C13. 

I ordered 2 of these 14 gauge cords recently for wall to PID, and PID to smoker (OBS and single probe Auber).
http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-P007-002-Power-5-15P/dp/B0027JPKIE/ref=pd_sim_e_3 (http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-P007-002-Power-5-15P/dp/B0027JPKIE/ref=pd_sim_e_3)

Hopefully this is clearer than mud. 
 
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 08:34:02 AM
i just found a computer cord looks like it will fit gonna try it soon
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 08:37:34 AM
im doing some jerky and i wanna smoke for 3 hours. gonna cook 2 hrs at 140 with no smoke for the first hour and the 150 for an hour and then 160 for an hour and then 170 till done. so i would need 3 steps for the sg. Its 25F degrees where im at so i like to have the generator on all the time to help with heat recovery when i rotate the racks. I should have ordered the extra power cord with my pid so i could plug it right into the outlet but i didnt know at the time that the pid was set up like that. Does anybody know the power requirements for the cord so i can get one.

Yes I believe a computer cord is all you need.
Have you done jerky before? The reason I ask Is you may have enough heat to maintain temps without the SG. I have added the second element so I am not in familiar territory here, but I would think the single element should be enough.
[/quot

this is my 3rd try at jerky 2nd time with the pid, the last time it was a little colder outside and without the sg on it took a really long time to get back to temp after i rotated the racks
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 08:44:32 AM
Here is a little tutorial for the PID

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=18346.0 (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=18346.0)

To answer your question directly, hit the set button and hold it until "LCK" appears on the screen. Then go to the + - buttons and hold the + until you get to 166 on the screen. Hit the set button until to get to r1. Here you set the cycle that you the smoke generator to run the first time. When you set that, you can set R2 to the cycle you want it to come on the second time.

If you have more than 2 cycles and want the SG on all the time, plug the SG directly into an outlet rather than the PID.

Just curious what you are cooking that you need to have the extra heat and multiple cycles? What I mean is that most stuff like butts, chicken, brisket etc, I usually have one long cycle or 2 at the most. So there isn't an issue. For things like sausage (and I assume fish is the same) I use multiple cycles but since I am at lower temps, I wouldn't think you need the extra heat from the SG.

Ok thanks for the info, i just changed my r2 setting to stay on for the 2nd step but while doing it i noticed a setting in there that isnt listed on the instructions. While going through the screens the setting before r1 was an R setting. My instuctions that came with it and what i read on here list the settings in this order after you enter the lock code
P
I
d
At
t
r1
r2
In between t and r1 I had an r, just got this pid a month ago. Did auber maybe add an extra step to leave the sg on all the time on the newer models. What is this r step that isnt in any of the manuals or tutorials
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 08:46:45 AM
drano i do have the obs but the auber pid uses the existing power cord to hook it up so plugging it in directly wont work unless this computer cord i just found will work
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 10, 2013, 08:52:53 AM
I knew what the "r" stands for, bit forgot. But I am pretty sure it is not to set the SG to be on all the time.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 10, 2013, 08:59:03 AM
ok they computer cord worked but i have a question for the experts about that. I know the auber comes tuned for the bradley somehow. With me bypassing the pid for the sg element will that somehow screw with the factory tuning for the bradley since it would be adjusting the heat thinking the sg is off but its actually on
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 10, 2013, 09:04:58 AM
Probably, but it shouldn't make that much off a difference to worry about. If you plan to always do it that way you could autotune.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: rexster on February 10, 2013, 09:08:15 AM
Yeh, I also don't think it'll make any difference to the temp swing either
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 11, 2013, 07:07:08 AM
Ok thanks for the info, i just changed my r2 setting to stay on for the 2nd step but while doing it i noticed a setting in there that isnt listed on the instructions. While going through the screens the setting before r1 was an R setting. My instuctions that came with it and what i read on here list the settings in this order after you enter the lock code
P
I
d
At
t
r1
r2
In between t and r1 I had an r, just got this pid a month ago. Did auber maybe add an extra step to leave the sg on all the time on the newer models. What is this r step that isnt in any of the manuals or tutorials
Here is the answer I got from Suyi at Auber regarding the "r"

"r" is the Capital T for 7 segments LED display.  It is the cycle rate of the controller. If should be left at 2 for electric heater.

To be honest I am not sure I understand the response except for the part that seems to say we shouldn't touch it unless autotune changes it.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 02:30:55 PM
I just got a response about it also this is what i got

"r" is the Capital T for 7 segments LED display.  It is the cycle rate of the controller. If should be left at 2 for electric heater.

Suyi Liu
Auber Instruments


and when i asked about the sg being left on i got this answer, gonna copy and paste my question and their answer

I have the original bradley 4 rack and just got an auber dual probe. I
finally figured out how to program it except for the smoke generator. I dont
understand why i can only have it come on for 2 steps. wouldnt it help for
heat recovery when rotating racks to have that element on all the time? It
comes programmed to only turn on during the first step so how do i change it
to at least stay on for 2 steps if not all the time?
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 02:31:52 PM
this part was their answer


It is not correct. When controller want to reduce the heat, it is better to have a 0 output. The larger the daynamic of the change, the easier it can cable. The smoke generator can rise the conbinate temperatre by 40 F. It become more difficult for low temperature control when smoke generator is on.  Also, if you want it to be on all the time, just plug the generator directly to the wall outlet.

Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 02:34:28 PM
I guess i wont be contacting them for customer support again, that pisses me off
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 11, 2013, 04:23:20 PM
I guess i wont be contacting them for customer support again, that pisses me off

What pisses you off?
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 06:57:02 PM
I guess i wont be contacting them for customer support again, that pisses me off

What pisses you off?

the horrible customer service, I live in america and i speak english if they sell their product here then they should have someone who speaks decent english to offer support for their product
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 11, 2013, 08:16:49 PM
I guess i wont be contacting them for customer support again, that pisses me off

What pisses you off?

the horrible customer service, I live in america and i speak english if they sell their product here then they should have someone who speaks decent english to offer support for their product

well actually lately t appears that if you want them to speak THE language, they would probably need to speak Spanish ;D

It may not be perfect English, but Suyi has always provided good and timely customer service. At least for me.
SO what he was saying was the the SG can add 40 degrees which makes it harder to control. I saw something where they had done testing with the SG on and off, and overall the PID controlled better by controlling the elements without the SG. May have to do with the difference in rates of cooling between the element and the puck burner.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 08:33:44 PM
ya i pretty much understood what he said but he didnt really answer my questions probably because he didnt understand what i was asking.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: rexster on February 11, 2013, 08:38:16 PM
Well, in my case I have a DBS 6 rack, and have found that with the SG plugged directly in an outlet the Auber stays even temp when smoking and after the SG turns off as programmed, the Auber keeps the same temp so no temp swings at all. Smoke penetrates the meat at a lower temperature anyways and doesn't add too much at higher temps. I don't know why the hubbub is over 2 smoke cycles
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 11, 2013, 08:44:16 PM
thats because you live in texas lol, when its 10 degrees out it really helps to have the extra 250 watts when you need to open the door to rotate the racks and its filled with a big load of cold meat.  The main element is 500 watt so the extra 250 from the sg really helps
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: TedEbear on February 12, 2013, 04:21:17 AM
  The main element is 500 watt so the extra 250 from the sg really helps

The SG is only 125 watts.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: devo on February 12, 2013, 07:33:49 AM
thats because you live in texas lol, when its 10 degrees out it really helps to have the extra 250 watts when you need to open the door to rotate the racks and its filled with a big load of cold meat.  The main element is 500 watt so the extra 250 from the sg really helps

At that temp it will not make any difference, you be better off spending the extra twenty bucks and pick up an extra element and be done with it.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: rexster on February 12, 2013, 07:47:37 AM
Plug the SG in directly. Leave it on whether you have bisquettes burning or not. Let the Auber control the heat element. You will have a pretty much constant (ambient) temp in the cabinet if the SG is on, so the Auber should control the heat element to keep the temp you've selected. You don't say if you have a second element or not, I assume you don't. Pop for the second element or change out for a 900w single element and your problem is solved.
Title: auber dual probe
Post by: TheHardWay on February 12, 2013, 11:22:33 AM
I'm using a 6 rack and dual probe auber as well. Doing some summer sausage as we speak.  From what I can tell is that the cabinet temp stays fairly consistent whether or not the SG is on (I plug my SG directly into an outlet)
Isn't that the point of using a dual probe?  The cabinet sensor probe monitors temperature, and applies the right amount of power to the element to maintain the pre determined temp. The added heat from the SG will just make the element cycle less frequently.

On a side note, where does one purchase a 900w element and/or a second element?
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 12, 2013, 01:32:35 PM
you can purchase a second element from Bradley direct or from Yard and Pool
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: paulsnapp on February 12, 2013, 04:05:40 PM
The Auber PID will adjust and hold the temp in the tower whether the SG is on or off.  The probe measures the temp and adjusts the elements to compensate.  Having the SG on may help a very small amount with getting back to a target temp after the door was opened on units with a single heating element.  With the two element mod the SG has no real impact on getting back to a temp if you open the door.  It is hard to believe what an improvement the second element mod is until you do it and see for yourself.  Well worth the time and money.  Just make sure you power the mod with a PID and not the SG from Bradley.
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 12, 2013, 05:08:05 PM
whats better a two element or the 900watt, does the 900 create alot of hot spots. Would i have to add a fan if i do one of those mods
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: drano on February 12, 2013, 09:16:10 PM
Most people here do the dual element mod. 
I did the 900 watt, and have done 2 smokes with it. 
If I had to do it again, I'd have done the dual element mod.  I decided on the 900 watt because I figured the fins would transfer heat into the air better than the regular elements. 
I even talked to Tempco, who makes the 900 watt element we use (and they make elements similar to the regular Bradley elements).  He said finned elements transfer heat into air better than infrared tubes (which heat objects better). 
All of that said, the finned element only heats on about 9" of the element, whereas the Bradley element is longer. 
So I'd say its a tossup.  Pic the one you feel will be the easiest to mount based on your skills and tools.  I drilled 1/4" holes thru the back, used 3/4" long steel bushings to hold the element away from the back wall, with fender washers on inside and outside to spread the bearing surface over a bigger area. 
A fan would be a great idea.  Some don't.  But you're adding a lot more heat to the bottom, so your top to bottom temp spreads will be wider. 
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 14, 2013, 06:39:02 AM
i cant find either the 900 watt element or the mount for the element, i found the 500 watt replacement element but cant find the ceramic holder or wiring for it. does anyone know where i can get it
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: GusRobin on February 14, 2013, 07:23:07 AM
i cant find either the 900 watt element or the mount for the element, i found the 500 watt replacement element but cant find the ceramic holder or wiring for it. does anyone know where i can get it

Can't address the 900w, but if you are adding a second 500w element you don't need additional ceramic holders. The second element is placed in holes drilled into the reflector shield. The wiring comes from the back thru the existing holes and ceramic holder.

If you need a set of ceramic blocks call Bradley
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: paulsnapp on February 14, 2013, 08:21:55 AM
You can get the needed parts from Bradley or from yardandpool.com.  I ordered mine from yard and pool and got the extra element, a second protective cage, a second inline fuse, a second temp sensor and a second temp sensor plug.  The wiring used by Bradley is high temp 18 awg wire that you will need to get.  If you go with a second temp sensor you will need a couple of short 4-40 bolts with nuts to mount it.  The second element I received had no attaching hardware for wiring.  The studs on each end are metric and will require M4 nuts and washers.  You will also need a couple of ring terminals and a couple of female spade terminals to complete your wiring hookups.   Good luck!
Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: drano on February 14, 2013, 08:55:38 AM
i cant find either the 900 watt element or the mount for the element, i found the 500 watt replacement element but cant find the ceramic holder or wiring for it. does anyone know where i can get it

The 900 watt element--add a couple more tools for $50 order and free shipping:
Zoro product number:  G2028932
Element made by Tempco, their item number:  CSF00131
http://www.zorotools.com/g/Stainless%20Steel%20Finned%20Strip%20Heaters/00061947/ (http://www.zorotools.com/g/Stainless%20Steel%20Finned%20Strip%20Heaters/00061947/)

How to mount it:
Bolts thru the back--
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=dtegq0fo2pl7o605sqdg57b575&topic=29038.0 (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=dtegq0fo2pl7o605sqdg57b575&topic=29038.0)

Bolts thru angle aluminum, then mount it--see Reply #27 for photobucket link:
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=29266.15

Using window curtain brackets
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=24427.0 (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=24427.0)

Aluminum brackets--very detailed instructions, drawings:
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=31078.0 (http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=31078.0)

Good luck!

Title: Re: auber dual probe
Post by: dtjim on February 14, 2013, 10:23:10 AM
thanks guys