BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Bradley Smokers => The New Bradley Smart Smoker (BS916) => Topic started by: cloose on June 19, 2017, 09:22:04 AM

Title: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: cloose on June 19, 2017, 09:22:04 AM
Hi There
I am new at using our smoker. I am wondering if the original electric smoker can shut of the smoke generator if we do not want to use it the whole time the food cooks? Example..if you want to smoke your ribs for 2 hours, then just cook for the remaining 2 how do you do that? Or would we have to upgrade to the digital smoker?

Thanks
Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: TedEbear on June 19, 2017, 09:46:57 AM
Hi and welcome aboard.  With the OBS, you have to manually turn off the smoke generator.  However, many people leave it on the entire time for the added 125W of heat.  If you do that, just be sure and not leave a puck smoldering on the heat plate or it can eventually leave a bitter flavor.  Bisquette savers (https://www.amazon.com/Bisquette-Savers-Bradley-Smoker-Aluminum/dp/B01EK7COFW) will solve that problem.  You'll need 3 of them.

Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: gricardsimplycol on June 19, 2017, 11:01:49 AM
Use just enough pucks for the time you want to smoke.
Leave the puck burner going as it will help maintain the cabinet temp you want
Without the puck burner going yoy will have a tough time keeping temp up to what you need

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: cloose on June 20, 2017, 10:16:05 AM
Thanks for the replies. We haven't used it yet, and do have the opportunity to upgrade to the digital one, do you think it would be worth the extra money?
Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: manfromplaid on June 20, 2017, 11:33:22 AM
that depends on what you want to do with your smoker. if your plans include sausage,fish or other cooks that will require tighter temp control lots of other users choose to purchase pid controller. as an example I bought the digital smoker then upgraded to a dual 500 watt mod. and bought a n auber single probe pid. which eliminates the use of temp and time control of the Bradley. so if you decide to go this route save the money and use it to purchase or construct a pid. you can find lots of info on upgrades here. and ask questions when you need help or advice.  hope this helps.
Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: gricardsimplycol on June 20, 2017, 06:03:24 PM
I have heard lots if issues with the digital. I bought the original 4 rack and still use it. I just ordered the original 6 rack. Not a whole lot can go wrong with the original. I did get a pid to control the new one. 

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: Smoker John on June 21, 2017, 10:01:35 AM
I have no issues with the digital 5 years old & no mods, works great. gricardsimplycol what issues are you referring to?
Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: jesse_sanders on June 21, 2017, 10:04:58 AM
Thanks for the replies. We haven't used it yet, and do have the opportunity to upgrade to the digital one, do you think it would be worth the extra money?
Absolutely not.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: With the Original Bradley 4 rack smoker only needing smoke part way
Post by: cherrybergher on June 22, 2017, 06:44:31 PM
Welcome to the forum