BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Miscellaneous Topics => General Discussions => Topic started by: dasboat on April 08, 2018, 08:14:20 am

Title: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on April 08, 2018, 08:14:20 am
hey all i just picked up 6 rack digi bradley smoker that was lightly used and i have only smoked 3 thing so far first was jerky and put some ribs half way through and my last was some burgers and i was looking to get some sort of temp probe thats fairy cheap i have a digital that i turn on and stab but i have to open the door to much and have seen the maverick et-73 mentioned alot is this a ok entry level probe
for a beginner ? i see them for about 55 cad. i dont smoke alot yet as i am still learning
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: manfromplaid on April 08, 2018, 08:57:02 am
maverick works just fine.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Salmonsmoker on April 08, 2018, 09:15:45 am
For ease of operation, take a look at Thermoworks "Smoke". It's a little more expensive, but has a better connection to it's remote and it's WAY easier to program. I have three mavericks that sit in the drawer. Never have been able to figure out the programming on any of them.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: GusRobin on April 08, 2018, 09:26:10 am
I agree on the Thermoworks Smoke. However if that is not in the budget, I would look at the Maverick 732. It is about $10 bucks more but worth the difference.
It has much better range than the 73. Also, the when the 73 loses signal, it "freezes" at the last reading. So you may not notice for a while that it has lost signal. The 773 will go blank and show "lines" and beep.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Habanero Smoker on April 08, 2018, 01:03:05 pm
Also with the Thermoworks Smoke you have the option of adding a Wi-Fi gateway, that allows the Smoke to be controlled with your smartphone. But that is an option. I find the remote signal very strong, and the receiver picks up the signal when I am in all my rooms.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: watchdog56 on April 09, 2018, 05:31:42 am
I agree with the thermoworks smoke. I have gone through a couple of Maverick ET73. The range does not seem as good and the thermoworks is very easy to operate and it seem more accurate. I have only used it for a couple of smokes but so far I like it.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on April 09, 2018, 05:37:20 am
Thanx guys I will check out the thermo that's bit more than I wanted to  spend  but I will have a better look at it soon as I can
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Habanero Smoker on April 09, 2018, 01:03:30 pm
If you don't need a thermometer right away, get on ThermoWorks email list. They occasionally have 10% discounts which includes the Smoke, also there are times they will have an open box sale with the Smoke heavily discounted. For the last several year some time in May (which is Barbecue Month), they discount all there Barbecue thermometers, and probes, for a short period of time.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: TwistedSanity on April 09, 2018, 02:24:03 pm
I have had good luck with the MASTER Chef Digital Thermometer, with the exception to the times I submerged the temp probe in water. Don't do that :o

They are about $30 cad and available at Canadian Tire. I have limited options for my supplies this far north so being available at Canadian tire is a big bonus for me.

It is wireless and very simple to program.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on April 09, 2018, 05:31:10 pm
thanx just subbed and waiting for updates
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: TedEbear on May 11, 2018, 01:15:06 pm
If anyone is interested, ThermoWorks is currently having a 15% off sitewide sale.  It includes the Smoke.  I sort of figured they'd do something when it got close to Memorial Day weekend and here it is.  I signed up the other week when I read about them here in this thread.

Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Habanero Smoker on May 12, 2018, 02:01:05 am
In the last four years, for a short period of time; they have done special sales on their barbecue thermometers during the month of May which is National Barbecue Month. It will be interesting to see if they have a one day sale on the 16th; which is National Barbecue Day.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on May 15, 2018, 05:27:09 pm
well i just bit the bullet and ordered smoke thermo ;D
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Salmonsmoker on May 16, 2018, 07:26:48 am
 :) :)  You're gonna like it!
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: TedEbear on May 17, 2018, 12:55:48 pm
It looks like the 15% off sale is still going on.  I ordered a blue Smoke last week and it arrived yesterday.  It seems pretty robust, compared to my old Maverick ET-732.  I'm going to do the glass of ice water test to see if it is as accurate out of the box as they claim.  The temp offset can be adjusted +/- 4 degrees.

(https://www.thermoworks.com/assets/images/products/Smoke_Blue-01.jpg?resizeid=6&resizeh=1000&resizew=1000)
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on May 18, 2018, 06:04:03 am
Nice I looked at the blue one but just got black one. Where are you guys running the probe wires just through the generator?
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Habanero Smoker on May 18, 2018, 12:52:31 pm
Black is a good choice; since it was the only option when I purchased mine.  :) It works out well, since black doesn't show the stains that much.

For the Bradley, it is best to run the probes through the door opening. The lower rack towards the front is the best placement for the pit probe. ThemoWorks also sell an extension wire so you can extend the length of the probe wires if you find a need to do so.
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: TedEbear on May 18, 2018, 03:28:22 pm
Nice I looked at the blue one but just got black one. Where are you guys running the probe wires just through the generator?

Although I haven't used the Smoke with my Bradley yet I previously ran the wires from my old Maverick through the door opening.  The soft rubber doesn't damage the wires and it still makes a good seal.

I also did the glass of ice water test earlier today, as described on the Thermoworks website.  Both probes measured within a few tenths of 32.0 degrees.  I'm happy with that.   :)
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on May 18, 2018, 04:29:49 pm
My smoke just showed up and my victorknox knife 12inch and the wife got me dicks knife so I'm almost ready
New toys https://imgur.com/gallery/5JXZhye
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Gafala on May 18, 2018, 07:23:04 pm
My smoke just showed up and my victorknox knife 12inch and the wife got me dicks knife so I'm almost ready
New toys https://imgur.com/gallery/5JXZhye


I use a 8" Japanese Damascus Steel Chef Knife love it.

Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on May 19, 2018, 08:02:03 am
i just did the ice test and it dropped to 32.5 not sure if i should tweak it or just call it good enough for me
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: TedEbear on May 19, 2018, 01:14:00 pm
i just did the ice test and it dropped to 32.5 not sure if i should tweak it or just call it good enough for me

I think for smoking food a 0.5 degree difference is well within the tolerance.  Did you follow the procedure on the Thermoworks website?

Creating a Properly Made Ice Bath (https://www.thermoworks.com/thermapen101_creating_an_icebath)
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: dasboat on May 19, 2018, 02:05:34 pm
i just did the ice test and it dropped to 32.5 not sure if i should tweak it or just call it good enough for me

I think for smoking food a 0.5 degree difference is well within the tolerance.  Did you follow the procedure on the Thermoworks website?

Creating a Properly Made Ice Bath (https://www.thermoworks.com/thermapen101_creating_an_icebath)
Yes I checked out  ice made bath from site after someone posted they did that so thought I would check it out and try it to see how far out mine was before starting just to see where it was at
Title: Re: temp probe??
Post by: Salmonsmoker on May 20, 2018, 08:50:31 am
i just did the ice test and it dropped to 32.5 not sure if i should tweak it or just call it good enough for me

I think for smoking food a 0.5 degree difference is well within the tolerance.  Did you follow the procedure on the Thermoworks website?

Creating a Properly Made Ice Bath (https://www.thermoworks.com/thermapen101_creating_an_icebath)
Yes I checked out  ice made bath from site after someone posted they did that so thought I would check it out and try it to see how far out mine was before starting just to see where it was at

You can also do a boiling H2O test. It will show the accuracy at high temperature. Make adjustments for altitude.