BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors"

Miscellaneous Topics => General Discussions => Topic started by: thmtht1612 on October 21, 2018, 06:51:14 am

Title: Do I have to "Season" the smoker before EVERY use? help me
Post by: thmtht1612 on October 21, 2018, 06:51:14 am
Do I have to "Season" the smoker before EVERY use?
« on: April 07, 2013, 12:10:32 pm »
I just got my Bradley Digital Smoker and was reading the instructions about seasoning the smoker before use.

Quick question...

Do I have to "Season" the smoker before "Every" use?

Or just before the 1st use?
And this is my procedure for each use:

1) Pre-heat the smoker burner and oven at the same time, until the oven reaches desired temp.

2) When oven reaches desired temp (Then) advance the briquettes until one gets onto the burner.

3.) Add choice of meat

4) Let it run

5.) Sit back and enjoy a beaverage (adult/or not), lite up a cigar or two depending on what's in the Bradley

Don


Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Do I have to "Season" the smoker before EVERY use? help me
Post by: Toker on October 21, 2018, 06:53:05 am
Only before the first use.


Envoyé de mon iPad en utilisant Tapatalk
Title: Re: Do I have to "Season" the smoker before EVERY use? help me
Post by: Edward176 on October 21, 2018, 11:39:56 am
Welcome to the Forum Don. As Toker stated you only season your smoker once, when new. That's to remove any oil and chemicals from the manufacturing process. I suppose IF you ever clean the walls inside your smoker oven with soap or cleaners (just use oven safe food grade cleaners) then Season it again to burn off any residues. I've had my smoker going on 5 years and have only wiped it clean with a paper towel, its nice and VERY BLACK in there now.
As for preheating before every smoke that's a must. I normally preheat my bisquette burner at least 20-30 minutes, as well as my smoker.
Title: Re: Do I have to "Season" the smoker before EVERY use? help me
Post by: GusRobin on October 21, 2018, 09:15:07 pm
Season once.
As far as pre-heating: Pre-heat to a higher temp then the one you are going to cook at. That way when it drops when you open the door to place the meat, it will have less to recover.