Tough baby backs

Started by backstrap, May 08, 2009, 06:53:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

backstrap

Hey folks...I'm new to the OBS and tried doing some BB ribs yesterday.  I smoked 3 slabs with each weighing a smidge uner 3#.  They were smoked for 3 hr @ 225 and tented & finished in a 225 oven.  They were extremely tough.  Any suggestions for my next go?

Caneyscud

Welcome Backstrap.

I'd love to have a little backstrap right now, sliced 1/2" thick dredged in flour and pan-fried!

But back to your baby backs.  A little more information would be helpful.  When you say finished in the oven, - for how long?  Also when you say tough, do you mean, the meat didn't fall off the bone?  Were they dry?  I've grilled baby backs and have not had toughness - maybe you got a "tough" batch - a pig that did his workouts!
"A man that won't sleep with his meat don't care about his barbecue" Caneyscud

"If we're not supposed to eat animals, how come they're made out of meat?"

Tenpoint5

Quote from: Caneyscud on May 08, 2009, 08:19:37 AM
Welcome Backstrap.

I'd love to have a little backstrap right now, sliced 1/2" thick dredged in flour and pan-fried!

But back to your baby backs.  A little more information would be helpful.  When you say finished in the oven, - for how long?  Also when you say tough, do you mean, the meat didn't fall off the bone?  Were they dry?  I've grilled baby backs and have not had toughness - maybe you got a "tough" batch - a pig that did his workouts!
Or tough as in chewy because you didn't know about taking the membrane off of the bone side of the ribs. More info will help a lot in trying to help you dial in your perfect rib.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

backstrap