Newbie in Indiana

Started by semoney, May 13, 2009, 11:45:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

semoney

Hi to all! I really look forward to sharing information with this group and hope to gain knowledge to improve my cooking skills.. AT 57 years old, I need all the help I can get.

Got my 4 shelf digital several days ago, and the longer I read the more questions I have.  I'm at this time working on a 6 lb Chuck and from what I read 10 hours should have it falling apart. (Advise if I'm wrong...  plz) But the question I have is, I have plans on cooking 4 Chuck roasts, about 5 -6 lbs each. Does the "rule of thumb" 1.5 hours per pound work for the amount of meat I plan on smoking?  I really do not want to drive the party into the ground because of poor planning on my part.

I really like this smoker and I'm new to this..  I have slow cooked before, but never in the manner.  Also any ideas on cooking veggies for for my vegan friends. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Edit and Added to previous..

In addition.. I had no idea..  I found that after 11 hours it still was not done!  Then I ran across the Instructions below...  What does FTC mean?  Sound like cooking time will be 20 hours at least for this 6 pounder  ???  Advise on the instructions below

Directions:

1. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
          * Any left over rub can be stored in an air-tight container.
   2. Next wash the surface of the meat with cider vinegar, and apply rub.
   3. Place in a 210°F preheated smoker, and apply 4 hours of hickory smoke.
   4. When the internal temperature hits 160°F, remove meat from the smoker boat it in a foil pan with some apple juice and covered it with foil.
   5. Return to smoker and continue to cook until the internal temperature reaches 195°F. Remove from smoker and FTC for 3 or more hours.
          * If you like, you can take the internal temperature up to 200°F – 205°F.