Smoked Deviled Eggs

Started by NePaSmoKer, May 28, 2009, 07:16:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NePaSmoKer

I steamed up 10 eggs prior to smoking. Smoked for 20 mins of hickory cold smoke  ;D

nepas

OU812

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM I likes Deviled Eggs. Those looks goooood.

Smoked Deviled Eggs, what a twist.

Where do you get those egg trays in the photo and the steamer you showed in another post.

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: OU812 on May 28, 2009, 07:39:31 AM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM I likes Deviled Eggs. Those looks goooood.

Smoked Deviled Eggs, what a twist.

Where do you get those egg trays in the photo and the steamer you showed in another post.

My daughter works at wally mart, She got both of them there. The steamer was like $29 and the tray $3.88

nepas

MTurczyn

My dad and I have been smoking eggs for several years. After a lot of trial and error, this is how I do it and everyone seems to love them.

I use a Little Chief electric smoker and this method would be considered cold smoking. I'm sure the principles can be applied in many ways, though.

You also need a large box... large enough to cover the smoker and allow a decent amount of clearance. Vent the box in two or three places on the top. I cut a small spot on one side to run the smoker's power cord through as well.

1. Boil, peel, and rinse the eggs.

2. Place eggs in wire container(s) (makes it easier to transport, but putting them directly on the rack would be fine as well).

3. Put eggs into smoker (make sure they are separated).

4. Place tray full (almost heaping) of wood chips onto heating element. I use hickory shreds (not chips), but I'm sure other types of wood would be fine as well.

5. Place a pie-plate half filled with water on the lowest shelf. This adds moisture to the mix and helps to keep the eggs soft.