Hi from Iowa

Started by ISUTroutBum, June 01, 2009, 03:31:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ISUTroutBum

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to Bradley smokers (after a lot of deliberation and research, I bought a 6 rack digital a few days ago). I've been smoking for a number of years, but most of the time I was just winging it. Recently I've started doing a lot of research (books and internet) trying to improve. Needless to say, I've got a lllooonnngg way to go, but it is a fun journey.  :) Historically, I've smoked on a 18.5" Weber. However, I really, really enjoy making sausages, but trying to smoke them on a grill was just not cutting it (no room for lots of links, put grill marks on them, etc.), so I found myself in need of a vertical. I made and smoked 12 pds of wieners the other day on the new DS after I seasoned it. I had some issues w/temp regulation, and a few other things, but overall it went decent for a first time.

I'm really looking forward to learning from y'all, and am very happy to have found the board.

Thanks for having me!

Best,
Trout
"Sine Cerere et Baccho friget Venus" - Terence, Eunuchus IV.v

westexasmoker

Welcome to the fourm Trout!

These guys know their stuff...Good luck and keep us posted!  Oh yeah, make sure you use mesquite!   ;D

C
Its amazing what one can accomplish when one doesn't know what one can't do!

Caneyscud

Welcome trout.

Great forum with lots of experience.  Ask as many questions as you need - ain't no such thing as a dumb question - just stupid answers sometime!

I was going to say something like "Trout?? I thought all that was grown in Iowa was corn" but that would be too crass and I wouldn't do that to another trout bum!  Has your season started yet? 
"A man that won't sleep with his meat don't care about his barbecue" Caneyscud

"If we're not supposed to eat animals, how come they're made out of meat?"

Ka Honu

Who knew more than one person lived in Iowa?  10.5 will be so pleased!

KyNola

Trout,