What's a PID?

Started by MontanaGuy, June 18, 2009, 10:35:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MontanaGuy

Hey ya'll,

I'm the happy owner of a Bradley Digital 4 Rack Smoker.  I've never used a smoker before.  Just got it a couple weeks ago.  So far I've managed to smoke some pretty good jerky and a chicken that needed some work but was edible!

I've noticed mention of PID's on the forum.  Can someone give me a simple explanation about what a PID is and why I may want to get one?  I'm thinking it helps with regulating heat but I'm not sure.  If it is some kind of heat regulator, is there any reason I would need one since I have the digital smoker? 

If a PID is recommended, does anyone have a recommendation for which one to get and where to get it?

Thanks for the help.  I think I'm going to enjoy this smokin' thing!

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: MontanaGuy on June 18, 2009, 10:35:38 AM
Hey ya'll,

I'm the happy owner of a Bradley Digital 4 Rack Smoker.  I've never used a smoker before.  Just got it a couple weeks ago.  So far I've managed to smoke some pretty good jerky and a chicken that needed some work but was edible!

I've noticed mention of PID's on the forum.  Can someone give me a simple explanation about what a PID is and why I may want to get one?  I'm thinking it helps with regulating heat but I'm not sure.  If it is some kind of heat regulator, is there any reason I would need one since I have the digital smoker? 

If a PID is recommended, does anyone have a recommendation for which one to get and where to get it?

Thanks for the help.  I think I'm going to enjoy this smokin' thing!

Here is the Auber site for the PID. It will tell you all about it. I have the programmable PID

http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=14

nepas

MontanaGuy

Nepas,

Thanks for the response.  I'll give it a look over.

pensrock