Half a chicken

Started by crabwise, August 02, 2009, 06:05:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crabwise

I'm just a novice at this, but learning.  I smoked a half chicken again tonight, some for tonight, and the rest for lunch this week.  I started out with a brine for about 24 hours, then smoke for roughly 3 hours.  (I say "roughly" because I had to leave for a while, and I didn't count the pucks before I left.  They were done when I got back, but there was still smoke in the Bradly)  I finished it on the grill.  It came out awesome, as is usually the case with this smoker.

I gotta say, I've been lurking here for a while, and have gotten some great tips.  Thanks guys/gals. 

I'm still searching for the ultimate Kielbasi recipe ... Oldman...?

Pics..  Let me know what I'm doing wrong.  ;D

HawkeyeSmokes

Nice looking chicken there crabwise. And welcome to the forum.
HawkeyeSmokes

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum crabwise!

Vent Full open for poultry.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

smokeitall

Great looking chicken..

Welcome Aboard.

SIA

Mr Walleye

Chicken looks fantastic Crabwise!  8)

Here is a kielbasa recipe I use. It is really good and I make it all the time.

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=8890.0

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

Caribou

Awesome chicken Crabwise!
And welcome to the forum...looking forward to seeing more!
Carolyn

mikecorn.1

thats one good looking yardbird
Mike

pensrock

Mike and I use pretty much the same kielbasa recipe, I have never heard a complaint. There may be better ones out there but I have not tried them, yet.... always looking.
Welcome to the forum.
pens

crabwise

>>Mike and I use pretty much the same kielbasa recipe<<

Thanks, I'll give it a try.  One question... can I use saltpeter instead of the cure #1?  And if so, how much?