New Okie

Started by .:beestitcher:., August 13, 2009, 09:36:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

.:beestitcher:.

Hello all.  I just received the 4 rack digital and it is currently being seasoned as I type this.  I have been smoking for 15 years at least. I started on a bullet, then an offset, then the green egg, a propane GOSM, and now to the bradley.  I guess being somewhat of a purest the only reservation I have is the amount of smoke flavor I am going to be able to impart into the meat.  A few posts on here claim that you won't get the "strong" penetration that I would prefer for Okie/Texas style briskets.  But nevertheless, I shall tinker.   My first smoke is Saturday and I'll start with smoking some boldog hungarian peppers for smoked paprika before I get the inside mucked up - this funks up chipotles and other peppers pretty bad.  Then I 'll move them to the dehydrator to finish off. Then on goes two briskets, two fatties, and anything else that is slow enough for me to catch.

I am sure I'll be asking loads of questions!

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum .:beestitcher:.!

It sounds like you have the smoking thing figured out.

If you click on the ribs at the bottom of this post, it will take you to our recipe site. Lots of good info there.

Lots of good people here.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

Thanks alot!  That's a great recipe site.....lots of good info on it to peruse. 

Smoke 'em if you got 'em!

mikeradio

Welcome  Beestitcher

Cheers

Mike

OU812

Sounds like you have all the toys to have one heck of a party

Welcome to the fun Beestitcher

pensrock

welcome and enjoy
pens

mikecorn.1

Welcome Beestitcher. What are you smoking first. Let see them pics.
Mike

mikecorn.1 ,

First of all, thanks to board for the warm invitation.  I would expect nothing less from a collective of smoking aficionados!