Jamacian Curried Chicken

Started by Habanero Smoker, February 22, 2005, 11:46:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Habanero Smoker

There are many variations of Jamacian Curried Chicken, this in one that I like. You should only use Jamaican curry powder, but be careful there is mild, medium and hot. You should always buy the mild. You can always add cayenne pepper to adjust how much heat you want. Cutting the bone is not easy, and I am not good with a cleaver. What I do to cut the bone in the leg and thigh; after I cut through the meat I use a serrated knife to score the bone. Once the bone is scored it can easily be snapped in half.

JAMACIAN CURRIED CHICKEN
2 Whole Chickens (or 6-8 lbs of thighs and legs)
1/4 c. Fresh lemon juice

3 - 4 Tbs. Jamaican curry powder (I use Jamaican Choice)
1 Tbs. Garlic powder
1 Tbs. Onion powder
2 tsp. Adobu w/pepper (or adjust to taste)
Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)
1 – 2 tsp. Jerk Seasoning or to taste (optional; I use Jamaican Choice)

2-4 Tbs. oil, clarified butter or shortening
1 lg. onion, chopped
1 Green pepper, chopped
1 or 2 Tomatoes, chopped
2 c. water (some times I will use reduced fat coconut milk)

Rinse chicken with cold water and drain. Remove skin and as much outer fat as possible, leaving the bones in. (Here's a trick to remove the skin. After the chicken has been quartered use a paper towel to get a better grip, grab the skin and pull it off.) Quarter the chicken, then cut into smaller pieces - cut each half-breast into 3 pieces, thighs into 2 pieces, legs into 2 pieces, wings into 3 pieces and discard wing tips. Place chicken pieces in a bowl; add 1/4 cup lemon juice and enough cold water to cover the chicken. Soak chicken in this solution for 1/2 hour. Drain and rinse again in cold water, then drain thoroughly. Return chicken to the empty bowl – do not pat dry.