Maverick ET-73 Mod

Started by JDNC, October 12, 2009, 03:24:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JDNC

I came across LilSmoke's posting a couple of days ago in reference to the mod for the ET-73.  I read all the posting on the subject and as I am an inactive ham operator and my major in college was in electronics (that was never put to use) I couldn't resist this mod.  I had tested the range of my ET-73 due to the fact I recommended one to one of my friends and he was complaining of no range.  I found with line of sight my range was max at 100 feet and at the fringe.  As you can see I really didn't have a problem as some have reported but inside my house it will drop out at about 40 ft through the house.  Well to the mod...Most rf signals at high freq are absorbed by surrounding objects and antenna's work better uninsulated (paint,plastic covering etc.) so I used an antenna off an old receiver that used a rf remote.  I epoxied a small tube in the top and soldered a small wire (1 1/2") to the tube and circuit board.  This allows removal of the antenna for storage.  Oh..yeah I bridged the two pads left of the wire on the board.  Range is amazing. Line of sight 390ft!  As for myself..I don't recommend messing with the transmitter as it's tuned for 433mhz and adding a wire might cause more problems that it's worth.  Oh..I cut the antenna at 5.5" as the wire I added was a little over an inch.  I could cut it to 5 for a total length (wire & antenna) of 6.5 but I don't think I will.

JDNC

I forgot to mention..the range of 390ft is as far as I've tested. I ran out of range this day as I was at the birm on my gun range.  I couldn't find an area at home outside where I could lose the signal...amazing!

squirtthecat

Nice...   Can you get a pic of the inside where you soldered it all together?  I need to do that with mine.

Quarlow

Nice mod JD Could you use a telescoping antenna. for that also.