air drying brined salmon

Started by HCAO, November 14, 2009, 12:43:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HCAO

I've had it air drying in my fridge for about 12 hours, but it's still not feeling "tacky".   This is my first time smoking salmon, so i'm not sure what to expect.  I'm going to leave it overnight and see how that is.  Maybe leave it outside at room temp for an hour?

Habanero Smoker

Sometimes it may take longer in the refrigerator. Some refrigerators maintain a higher humidity. especially if it is not a self defrosting one. Or you have such a large load; it may take longer for the refrigerator to air dry the salmon. If you try air drying it at room temperature, use a fan to help with the drying.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Hopefull Romantic

I agree with Habs on the time and even with the help of a fan, it could take up to 4 hours to reach "tackiness"

HR
I am not as "think" as you "drunk" I am.

CB

Don't laugh - my friend is a caterer and she sometimes uses a hair dryer on "low" to dry the surface until it's ready...I know I know.
Happy Grilling!

HCAO

i just left it in for about 24 hours.  it was tacky by then.  smoked it with alder for 4 hours at 120, then last hour at 175.  turned out AMAZING!   i'm going to make some more next week.

Hopefull Romantic

HCAO, wher is the proof??? Where are the pictures?????

;D ;D ;D

HR

Gizmo

I hope you are bringing some samples into work.   ;D
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

HCAO

Did a brisket too.   That turned out awesome! Samples??  Those things disappeared so fast!  Half of it didn't make it off the rack. I made alot of brine though, so I'll be doing another batch this week.  A fresh brine mixture is ok stored in the fridge a few days right?  Gizmo, thanks for the tips.  

Tenpoint5