Newbie from GA needs first smoker!!

Started by wmflyfisher, December 08, 2009, 03:15:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wmflyfisher

Hey guys,

Just found this site tonight. Thanks for all the great info! I'm looking for my first smoker but need a little help on deciding. My main factor is cost. I really don't want to spend over $150 if at all possible. Something small would be fine. I really like the gas smokers for some reason. Looking to smoke mainly jerky, chickens, turkeys, brisket, and fish. I don't need anything that holds a lot of meat. What should I look at?? Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks, Wes

ArnieM

Hi Wes and welcome to the forum!

The list on the Bradley propane smoker is $99:  http://bradleysmoker.com/propane-smoker.asp

I have no experience with it.  I have the Original Bradley Smoker.  Last I looked Amazon had it for $288, free shipping.

Looking to smoke mainly jerky, chickens, turkeys, brisket, and fish.

There's not too much else; sausage, nuts, etc.  :D
-- Arnie

Where there's smoke, there's food.

wmflyfisher

Thanks Arnie,

Wonder if I would be better getting an electric. I guess their a good bit more expensive though probably.

classicrockgriller

wmfly, find a partner that wants to smoke also and go in halfs. You would love a Bradley, but you are looking at the $288.

wmflyfisher

Quote from: classicrockgriller on December 08, 2009, 06:59:32 PM
wmfly, find a partner that wants to smoke also and go in halfs. You would love a Bradley, but you are looking at the $288.

Thanks classic. Would I benefit greatly going from the gas to the electric at $288?? If so, then I might consider.

classicrockgriller

Look around you. Look at this forum. Look at the ability to cold smoke.

Look at the ability to smoke a good clean smoke and know how long to do.

Read the recipe site. This many people can't be wrong.

HawkeyeSmokes

Quote from: classicrockgriller on December 08, 2009, 07:23:24 PM