Summer sausage question

Started by micdelbo, December 23, 2009, 05:54:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

micdelbo

New to this, this is my first attempt at summer sausage.

Used a Hi Mountain Sausage kit. Followed instructions:

1. Stuff mixture into 2.5 inch casings the length of the racks.
2. Dried sauage at 120F for an hour.
3. Started smoke and increased temperature to 130F for one hour.
4. Next increase temperature to 150F for the next hour.
5. Final temperature adjustment is 180F for 4 hours or to the sausage's internal temp of 152F.
6. Let smoke on for 2 hours.

Except for the last smoke of 2 hours.

I rotated the 3 sausages, each 3 lbs., front to back and top to bottom half way through and used a Polder probe thermometer set to record max temp. I went to bed with 3 hours of the final cook left which means it was done cooking around 4 am this morning.  The Polder showed a max temp of 156, so that worked okay.

When I cut one in half (just had to see what it was like), the consistency is a little soft, too much moisture.  When you go to cut it, it is difficult to slice, not impossible with a serrated knife, but mushy.  The taste is mild, my wife says it could use more smoke flavor.

Question is, can I do a 2nd smoke?

I am thinking I can, but am unsure exactly how.  My guess would be to just re-smoke for 1-3 hours at 140-150 with smoke on.  The meat is already cooked, so I am safe there.  Does this sound correct?

Also, I would like to put the already cut sausage back in as well.  Is this a problem?  It is just cut in half, so there are the open ends.

Any input is appreciated and I thank you in advance for your replies.

Mike.

Habanero Smoker