PID DO I or Don't I

Started by smokeNcanuck, January 13, 2010, 11:49:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokeNcanuck

OK, well I hate to make everyone keep repeating them self's but......
I have done a quick look through the forum and am trying to decide if getting a PID for my Bradley is worth the money. As you can tell I am new to the OBS world.  I am most likely going to be a weekend smoker, so for the money I am I going to see the benefits of spending the money.  Should I just master what I have before throwing something new in the mix?  I have ordered a maverick(hoping It will be hear for this weekends smoke)so will that serve my needs just as well.  Would love some members feed back as I know most of you are far wiser in the way of the smoke than I am.  And again sorry for bringing up a topic that has probally been discussed to death.

Thankx sNc
Either Way....I'm Smoke'N It

FLBentRider

I have an OBS and a PID. I didn't get the PID at first.

IMHO

It depends on what you are smoking. (I love that line!)

If you are smoking sausage, then A PID will help keep temp swings from "fatting out" your sausage.

Some Salmon smoking recipes require you to increase the smoking temps in steps "Ramping"

If you are smoking butts, briskets and ribs.... It's nice to have but by no means a requirement.

I turned out some mighty fine "Q" before the PID and no one has told me my "Q" is better since I got it.

But it is nice to have. I use the first step to pre-heat, then the next step does the cooking.

with the loads I do (usually 4 butts at a time) I would just run the OBS on MAX or close to it the whole time.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

lumpy

Canuk Eh ;)

I have a BDS and only use the PID when doing fish (salmon) or sausages.