Author Topic: Bad ET-73 probe?  (Read 2913 times)

Offline TTNuge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 585
  • Twin Cities, MN
Bad ET-73 probe?
« on: February 20, 2010, 02:52:04 PM »
Well today I used my ET-73 for about the 10th time and after the jerky was in for about an hour I look a look at my ET-73 to find my cabinet temp was at about 385 degrees.  Quick check of my Auber as well as the thermo in door of the OBS confirmed that I was only at 130 like I had it set.  I then dropped the meat probe for the ET-73 in the cabinet and it too read 130 degrees so at least everything was spot on. 

But unfortunately it looks like the cabinet temp probe has gone south.  I took it out of the smoker and let it sit in the 30 degree garage and we're still reading about 285 degrees.  Any other type of reset or anything I should try first?  Looks like $12 for a replacement probe which isn't too bad.  Just unfortunate it happened so quickly.


Offline KevinG

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,383
  • Worlds Most Ornery Pig
    • Kevin's Storefront
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 03:03:21 PM »
There's a couple of things you can try, but if the TC is bad, there's no fixing it. I'd try disconnecting and re-connecting, then re-establish the communication link. If it got wet for any reason, it's most likely gone, but you can try to let it dry out and see if it comes back to life.
Rodney Dangerfield got his material from watching me.
Learn to hunt deer www.lulu.com/mediabyKevinG

Offline TTNuge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 585
  • Twin Cities, MN
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 03:47:48 PM »
I bet it was moisture.  It happened after I was adjusting my exhaust ducting and I accidentally bumped my vent and had it more than half closed.  Didn't notice it until I noticed the temp issue and there was a lot of moisture build up in and around the OBS.  My guess is that since I had the probe running down through the vent that the condensation collected, ran down the wire and into the probe killing it.

Live and learn.  Guess I'll order a 2 pack so I have a spare.

Offline classicrockgriller

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,569
  • "I looked back, then looked forward and got lost."
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 09:35:28 PM »
That is one of the reasons I don't run my probes down the vent.

Also clean them after your smoke so they have time to dry before next use.

I use an alcohol based wipe so that it evaporates quick and sanitizes.

Offline Captainslug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
  • If you can cook it, I can probably smoke it!
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2010, 12:10:37 PM »
That is one of the reasons I don't run my probes down the vent.

Also clean them after your smoke so they have time to dry before next use.

I use an alcohol based wipe so that it evaporates quick and sanitizes.

Hey Classic,  How do you  run your probes then? 
Bradley Digital 4 Rack Smoker, 8 Std Racks, cold smoke adapter, 3 alum. pucks, 2nd element, circ. fan, Dual probe PID

Offline Tenpoint5

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 11,847
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 12:29:47 PM »
That is one of the reasons I don't run my probes down the vent.

Also clean them after your smoke so they have time to dry before next use.

I use an alcohol based wipe so that it evaporates quick and sanitizes.

Hey Classic,  How do you  run your probes then? 
In thru the door
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!


Offline Captainslug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 109
  • If you can cook it, I can probably smoke it!
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 12:31:31 PM »
That is one of the reasons I don't run my probes down the vent.

Also clean them after your smoke so they have time to dry before next use.

I use an alcohol based wipe so that it evaporates quick and sanitizes.

Hey Classic,  How do you  run your probes then? 
In thru the door

Any wear and tear showing on the door seals?
Bradley Digital 4 Rack Smoker, 8 Std Racks, cold smoke adapter, 3 alum. pucks, 2nd element, circ. fan, Dual probe PID

Offline TTNuge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 585
  • Twin Cities, MN
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2010, 12:33:38 PM »
Since this thread came back up it made me pick up the phone and call Maverick.  I was very nice, telling them how much I love my ET-73 and told the sweet gal answering the phone about my problem and she said it would be no problem to send me out a new probe.  She took my address and phone number and said it would be on its way.

Gotta love it.

Offline Tenpoint5

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 11,847
Re: Bad ET-73 probe?
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2010, 12:38:09 PM »
That is one of the reasons I don't run my probes down the vent.

Also clean them after your smoke so they have time to dry before next use.

I use an alcohol based wipe so that it evaporates quick and sanitizes.

Hey Classic,  How do you  run your probes then? 
In thru the door

Any wear and tear showing on the door seals?
None yet. But then I run the probes both ways in the door down the vent. just depends on what I feel like doing at the moment. I do have the six foot replacement probe though. I sent mine swiming one day and it rebelled.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!