Italian Sausage

Started by Phone Guy, April 19, 2005, 06:33:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phone Guy

I have a bunch of Ital. Sausage I made myself. When I made these I did not have a BS so I didn't think about curing. Do you recommend smoking these in the BS without curing salt in them?

Mike

Thunder Fish

I buy mine from the store and just put them in them for about 4 hrs or until internal temp is around 150-160 ish.One of MY favorites so far[:p]
Terry

Phone Guy

Chez Bubba

PG,

I'm not an expert in this arena so if any of the more knowledgable guys correct me, listen to them. My understanding of the curing process is that you do it for meats that you cold smoke, then cook later. The cure acts as a preserving agent since you're not cooking the meat, simply flavoring it.

If you want to hot smoke some fresh or frozen italians, no cure or preservatives needed. I have done this & they are very tasty![:p]

Kirk

http://www.chezbubba.com
Ya think next time I check into a hotel & they ask "Smoking or Non?" they would mind?
http://www.brianswish.com
Ya think if next time I check into a hotel & they ask "Smoking or Non", they would mind?

Thunder Fish

Thunder Fish

Mine would be a hot smoke than eat them, aahhh they will go quickley any way.I did 4 dz and they left the fridge with in 2 days[:D] These would be the breakfest type sausage
Terry

Phone Guy

Well when I got home last night I took a couple packs of italian sausage out and defrosted. Put them in the BS at about 210 with 2 hours smoke. 2 hicory and 1 misquite per hour. They did not take the full smoke, they were done in about 1 hour and 45 min. They are delicious.
Thunder Fish, you must have had the BS at a pretty low temp to take 4 hours. I didn't expect them to be done so soon.

JJC

Hi PG,