6 Rack Digital smoker temperature

Started by alanwyatt, February 26, 2010, 08:50:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alanwyatt

Hi.  Just purchased my first Bradley.  V. exciting, but a bit confused.  I seasoned it as per the instructions, set the temp at 66deg (150f).  At the end of one hour though the temp display showed 75deg!  Am I doing something wrong or do I perhaps have a fault?  Any advice would be much appreciated please.  Ambient temp. is 6 deg & windy.

smokeNcanuck

Are your temps listed C or F, as you quoted both to begin with?
I'm no expert but outside ambient temp and especially wind will
affect you temp.  If your DBS was colder that set temp that would explain it,
may take longer to get up to temp. in cold and wind.  I always preheat my (OBS) on full high
then dial back once I get it loaded.(but not anymore as I finally got my PID ;D ;D)
Hope this helps, as I am not familiar with the BDS.

sNc
Either Way....I'm Smoke'N It

RAF128

Mine did that when I bought it.    Only heat I was getting was from the smoke generator.   Turn yours on and set temp to what you want.   Take out the V tray and watch you heating element.    If it doesn't glow red shortly after you've turned it on then you have the same problem I had.   One of the wires inside the generator is not connected.   Easy fix.    Open  up the generator and you'll see a loose wire and a place it should be attached to.   Reconnect and you're good to go.

alanwyatt

Hi sNc.  Sorry for the confusion but I'm in England where we can't seem to make up our minds whether to use degrees C or F for temps!  The problem is that I set it at 66C but it actually read 75C after one hour.  i.e. far too hot. I'm wondering whether sensor lead or thermostat is faulty, but also whether the temp displayed is the actual temp in the smoke tower.  Excuse a stupid question but what is a PID?
Alan