OBS or DBS?

Started by lunatik, March 13, 2010, 06:30:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lunatik

Hey guys, i'm new to the idea of smoking (no pun intended  ;D )  here so please bear with me as i ask a lot of questions!

Like i said before, i've never smoked anything before.  I've looked at the OBS and DBS both of which have their pro's and con's.  OBS has basic functions but is about $100 cheaper, DBS has more bells and whistles.  I've heard that with the DBS you can set the temp and it will maintain that temperature even when the weather outside is changing, not sure how true that is.  I've also read that most people with a DBS just utilize a 3rd party external thermometer so that they know exactly what's going on in the smoker.

Now is that just for the purpose of know what the temp of the meat is internally or to help monitor the temp inside the smoker?  I have an external thermometer for oven baking that does both, but not sure if that's what you guys are doing as well.  I'm basically trying to find the most user friendly and reliable smoker at a reasonable price.  the obs and dbs 4 racks are within my price range.  I'm not trying to babysit the smoker every hour if don't have to.  Any pro's and cons you guys can provide would greatly be appreciated!!

Toker

HI and welcome here, all depend of what you wish to smoke. The OBS is cheaper ($) but has a better temperature reliability less swing about 5 degrees VS 15 degrees with the digital. Me, i personally rather this one (OBS) because of it. The purpose of the thermometer with this unit is for knowing at what temp your cooking at since there is no other way to know. There is no digital display on this one. The other purpose is to know the internal temp of the meat cause that is how we know when the food is ready (cooked). If your thermometer has 2 probes, just drop one on the smoker and the other on the food.