Potential Member here.

Started by MechMedic130, March 11, 2010, 12:21:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MechMedic130

Hey all, I've been browsing this forum a little since I've been thinking about dipping into the world of smoking and like the concept of the Bradley. I'm just trying to figure out if it's the right thing for me.

I've been grilling for years, but I feel like I'm stepping into a whole new world on this, lol. Before I buy a Bradley, can anybody just answer me a couple quick questions about the OBS?

1 - About how long does smoking take on average for various meats? Do you just smoke for a little while then stop smoking and let the heat work?

2 - About many Bisquettes do you typically run through while cooking? I'm not looking to spend an arm and a leg to cook some food, no matter how smokey and delicious it comes out.

3 - How beginner friendly is this? Like I said, I've been grilling for years but I am an absolute novice when it comes to smoking. I feel like I'm back to step one with my outdoor cooking, but after tasting some of my friends smoked salmons and briskets, I have to make the dive, lol.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

OU812

Welcome to the fun MechMedic

1- average is 2 to 3 hr some thicker meats I'll go 4 hr. the rest of the time in the smoker is just cookin.

2-1 bisquett will smoke for 20 min. 3 per hr.

3-This smoker is very user friendly, key thing to remember is slow and low. You will be cookin in a totally different manner than a grill which is hot and fast.

The Bradley has a small learnin curve but its easy to figure out.

One of the biggest things to learn is to keep the vent open.  :D

Wildcat

As far as we are concerned - you already are a member, whether you buy a Bradley or not.  Welcome to the forum.

1. Too many variables. It generally takes me 24 hours to do a medium size butt. I cook at lower temps than many on here.