Advice on which smoker to buy

Started by DarqMan, April 11, 2010, 08:27:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DarqMan

I'm a newbie and this is my first post. 

I've been smoking using a wood smoker for about 15 years.  Recently, a long time friend purchased an OBS and has been experimenting with a lot of recipes in the Charcuterie book.  So far he is loving the original smoker. 

I was over at his house this weekend and watched as he made Canadian Bacon.  Once he turned the heat on, the original smoker's temperature climbed to 200 degrees and stayed there steady until the pork loin reached the desired internal temp.  Well, I've decided I want to get a Bradley because of how easy the process is vs. the work and constant attention of a wood smoker. 

I started looking at the units on Amazon and see that a lot of folks have been disappointed with the temp swings with the digital units.  If Bradley made a 6 rack like the 4 rack original that would be the way I'd go.  I really want something bigger than the 4 rack because when I entertain I usually have a good sized crowd. I also vacuum seal left overs so smoking in larger quantities isn't that uncommon. 

Obviously I'm undecided about which smoker to get.  I like the simplicity of the original unit and didn't see any temp swings on my friends unit, but I'd like something bigger and am hesitant of the digital controls.  Is it possible to manually control the heat for the digital units like the original?  Or is the heat always controlled by the digital thermometer?  Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated.
Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID, Traeger Texas BBQ075, Traeger Junior BBQ055, Bubba Keg with Stoker

New car, caviar, four star daydream, think I'll buy me a football team.

HawkeyeSmokes

Hi DarqMan  and welcome to the forum.