Jerk Chicken - Apple or Cherry?

Started by justwandr, April 14, 2010, 07:59:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

justwandr

I am a big fan of Jerk Chicken which is just a more spicy version of BBQ. The Skin comes out very dark brown as if it was burned. I haven't seen any topics within the forum discussing Jerk Chicken so I thought I ask the question which flavor smoke would be best.

It seems Cherry and Apple are the preferred smoke flavors for Chicken. I will be doing quarter legs I like to know what everyone thinks is the right temperature and the type of smoke that would best and roughly how long should chicken be smoked for before it is too much.

I am pretty new at this. So any help is good help I guess.

FLBentRider

How much smoke is a very subjective (taste) thing.

Poultry takes smoke in very easily - I would start with 2 hours unless you like it strong.

I like Hickory on chicken, but Apple and Cherry are good too.

I would run the smoker @250F until you get to 165F in the breast - 3 or 4 hours depending on the load in the smoker and your ambient temps/wind.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

Caneyscud

FLBR has ya with the temp and time.  Leg quarters do very well on a smoker.  The higher temps than normal for low-n-slow is to have a crispier skin.  As far as smoking woods - I believe Pimento (whatever that is) is the supposedly "authentic" wood.  Never seen any pimento pucks though!  To mix well with the huge flavors of the jerk marinade, I usually go with what would normally be a heavier smoke - hickory, pecan, even the messywood!

More often than not, unless I have a big load, the quarters usually take closer to 3 hours.  This is one time a instant read digital thermometer is handy.  You can check each piece and take it out when each is done. 
"A man that won't sleep with his meat don't care about his barbecue" Caneyscud