Cold smoking - How long?

Started by IanB, August 20, 2010, 08:00:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

IanB

Hi folks I'm a newbie from England, I've got some hams curing (and some backs,butts  & bellies)
and cant wait to smoke some but not sure how long to cold smoke them for.
I've got a digital 6 rack with a cold smoke attatchment.

Cheers Ian

Tenpoint5

Ian,
For the Ham I would suggest the following:

Hang Ham in preheated smoker to 120º and hold for 12 Hours (Vent Full Open) then
Increase temp to 140º start smoke and smoke for 8 Hours (Vent at Half) then
Increase temp to 170º until IT of 142º For a fully cooked ham, Hold until the IT reaches 152-155º

The Internal temperature (IT) of 142º is for a ham that will be finished cooking in an oven at a later time. The 152-155º is for a fully cooked read to eat ham.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

IanB

Cheers Tenpoint5 but I really want to cold smoke them for slicing and grill/fry later

Tenpoint5

Quote from: IanB on August 20, 2010, 08:20:32 AM
Cheers Tenpoint5 but I really want to cold smoke them for slicing and grill/fry later

Are you starting with a fresh ham to be cold smoked or a store bought ham that you would like to add some extra smoke to? I was quoting the smoke time for a home cured ham from scratch. If your wanting to slice and grill/fry later then I would only smoke to the 142º as you will be finishing the cooking on the grill later.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

IanB

I've just dry cured a big (80kg) gilt pig with supacure and want to smoke some of it to
slice for bacon / gammon etc.
I am starting to realise everything is done differenly over the pond,
you even have different names for things - Butts?  Pulled pork?

Tenpoint5