Cold Smoke vs Hot Smoke

Started by alliecat61, June 04, 2010, 05:43:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alliecat61

I'm a newbie.  Can you explain the difference between cold smoking and hot smoking?

EZ Smoker

In some smokers, the source of heat for cooking the food is the same source of heat for providing the smoke.  But in the Bradley, there is a puck burner that provides the smoke, while a separate heating element provides the heat for cooking.   So "cold smoking" means using the puck burner to smoke food without turning on the separate heating element.  In reality, of course, a small amount of heat will rise from the puck burner, raising temps in the smoker cabinet several degrees above the ambient temperature.  

Cold smoking usually refers to smoking with a temp in the low 90s or below.  (I'm estimating.. I don't know if there's an actual temp specified in the definition of "cold smoking").     

But cold smoking is simply providing smoke without cooking the food.  This is often done with cheese, and sometimes with meat before it is cooked.  For example, you could cold smoke a couple of ribeyes for an hour or so before you throw them on the grill, and this would create a better smoke flavor if you don't get the smoky taste you want from grilling alone.  

For cold smoking cheese, you want to keep your temp down, so the cheese doesn't melt or sweat, but that can be really difficult if it's June in Texas (where I am) and the outside temperature is in the mid-90s.
It may seem like I'm rubbing salt in the wound, but the truth is I'm trying to cure it.

classicrockgriller

Alliecat ............ EZ S has nailed it pretty good.

I would learn hot smoking/cooking (+225*) first and study cold smoking,

if you haven't smoked before.

Habanero Smoker

Hi alliecat61;

Welcome to the forum.