Cold Smoking Salmon

Started by cg_lux, August 05, 2010, 11:05:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cg_lux

Hi, Im new to smoking and have a question, for my first attempt I have gone for a side of salmon that weighed a kilo. I brined it in 80% brine for two hours, dried it in a refrigerator for 24 and gave it two overnight smokes of about 8 hours each. The resulting fish still ways 910 grams and I understand that it needs to lose 18% before you can eat it...... Having tried some though, it already tastes very smoky indeed and I dont want to continue the overnight smokes... Can I eat it as it is?

Habanero Smoker

I've made lox before, but I have used longer brining times; at about the same salinity your brine is. I've never weighed the fillets before or after. You brine has a high salinity, and if they were brined long enough they should be safe to eat. If my calculations are correct, you have lost more then 18% of it's green weight.

Hopefully one of the members that use salmon a lot will provide some assistance.

Here is a link to cold smoke salmon:
Best Smoked Salmon (LOX)

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Habanero Smoker

Hi cg_lux;

I forgot to welcome you to the forum.

Also I'm re-reading my post. For some reason my eyes were seeing 910g, but my brain was registering 810g. So you have a 9% weight loss, but as I mentioned earlier I've never weighed mine before or after.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

3rensho

Hi and welcome,

I dry brine mine overnight and then cold smoke for three hours and love the result.  Have never weighed mine though.
Somedays you're the pigeon, Somedays you're the statue.

cg_lux