Rookie from the Bluegrass......

Started by WildcatRick, June 12, 2010, 08:50:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WildcatRick

Greetings from Big Blue Country!! I grew up on Owensboro BBQ mutton from Moonlite and Old Hickory. After I left the military I just never did enough BBQ or smoking to invest in my own equipment, but that is about to change.

I am an Administrator at Wildcat Nation, a fan site for the University of Kentucky, and we have a tailgate party for all UK home games and a few away games. We feed anywhere from 75-250 of our members and UK students before and after each game. We have done this for about 10 years and I am buying a smoker in the next few days to smoke pork butts, brisket, ribs, wings, brats, etc for our fans. Our tailgate menu is not your normal fare as we rarely go the hot dog and burger route. We usually do shrimp boils, Cajun, Tex-Mex, Italian, and a big BBQ week where we have brisket, pulled pork, ribs, and Kentucky burgoo. We have always had our briskets done by an outside source, but I want to remedy that.

One of my buddies that helps with the cooking also visited this site tonight and will join shortly. We are hoping to pick the brains of the aficionados here and post our progress. I have been reading the forums today and came away very impressed with the knowledge of your members and the friendliness of responses.

My experience is limited to pork butts, ribs and wings thus far, but I am hoping to expand on that in the very near future. I did smoke some lamb last year while doing my pork butts to go into my burgoo recipe, which I think is as good as any served in Western Kentucky.

Anyway, thank you guys for such a nice venue to seek help from the gurus here. Look forward to talking to you all and reading more of your forums.

Go Big Blue!
People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

'Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum'