Pork Butt and Spare Ribs

Started by AZSmoker, June 16, 2005, 06:23:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AZSmoker

Hi y'all.  I'm new to smoking, and just got my shiny new Bradley last week.

My question: Is it OK to smoke 2 types of meat at the same time.  For example, a pork butt and some spare ribs?  Does it load the smoker up too much to cook in a reasonable amount of time?

I'd like to try an 8 lb port butt and 4 racks of spare ribs this weekend (already in the fridge with a rub).  I can't decide if I should smoke them separately or together.

As you might have guessed, I live in AZ, where you can practically grill by just setting meat out in the sun.  Maintaining temperature shouldn't be a problem. [;)]

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Habanero Smoker

Yes! It's OK to smoke more then one type or cut of meat at the same time. Just make sure that you monitor the internal meat temperatures of the different meats. If you can fit the four racks and butt in all at once, I would load the ribs above the butt.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

MallardWacker

AZ,

Welcome!  I am from Arizona myself, now live in Arkansas.  Graduated High School from Lake Havasu and went to NAU for a while.  Also too if you like to get into BBQ events and the such look into the Arizona BBQ Association.  CLICK HERE>>>>AZBBQA. Great bunch of folks.  They have great planed events and they also host some BBQ cooking classes.  I happened to be a member also, tell the MallardWacker sent you--that will probably get you an empty cup of coffee or something but it is worth looking into.

SmokeOn,

mski
Perryville, Arkansas
Wooo-Pig-Soooie

If a man says he knows anything at all, he knows nothing what he aught to know.  But...

SmokeOn,

Mike
Perryville, Arkansas

It's not how much you smoke but how many friends you make while doing it...

bsolomon

AZSmoker,