My bacon does not look right

Started by bilder, August 14, 2010, 11:51:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bilder

Got some buckboard bacon curing up and I have noticed that there are spots on the meat that look like they have not cured.  The rest of the cut has taken on the cured color, but there are a couple spots that look raw.

Could it be that the plastic baggie made too tight of contact with the meat?  Or has it cured and the tight contact just prevented the meat from making contact with what little air is in the bag and changing color due to that?

Should I smoke/cook it up as normal or add some more cure to the spots and give them a couple more days?  I gave it a full rub down before placing in the bag, so it seems odd that it would not have gotten some cure.

KyNola

I am by no means an expert on curing but it sounds like your baggie did prevent it from curing those spots.  I'll certainly yield to the other members who are much more learned than me but I think I would try to loosen the baggie a little and let it go another day or two.  I wouldn't be comfortable in adding additional cure to it.

Somebody who knows their stuff, please come help him out.

Habanero Smoker

You didn't mention how long you have been curing the bacon, but at this time I would have to say don't add more cure to those spots. Generally the bag pressing against the meat does not cause this problem; it is not that much pressure to interfere with the curing process. When I cure, I expel as much air as I can and the bag is making contact with the meat on all surfaces. The contact with the bag against the meat, helps the liquid that is drawn from the meat stay in better contact with the meat. You did not provide much information, but here are some general thoughts.