to much smoke,newbie here

Started by bugs, August 22, 2010, 12:49:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bugs

just got my bradley and i want to do a fresh ham 9lb. Had the ham in for 6hrs and it wasn't done. I tried a little piece and it seems like it is to smokey,just wondering what I'm doing wrong.  I had to finish the ham in the oven. Please help this newbie!

lumpy

Welcome to the forum bugs!

First off, how many hours did you actually burn pucks for?
What was your ham IT when you removed it?
What temp was the Bradley set at?

Once we know this, we can help.

Lumpy

Quarlow

Did you smoke it for the whole 6 hours. If so that is alot of smoke. I will put 5 hours to a 8 lb Pork Butt. A fresh ham should handle that much smoke but you may not be use to that much smoke.
The bradley gives off very concentrated smoke that if you were use to a little chief or another smoker you would find it gives more than those. A 9 lb fresh ham would not be cooked in 6 hrs in the Bradley but I would think 4 hrs of smoke would have been enough. Fresh meat will take more smoke in than a cooked precooked meat. Like if you wanted to put some smoke to a cooked ham or some cooked sausage.That said I have never done a fresh ham but someone who knows more will be along soon. Are you going to eat this right away cause if you wrap it and leave it in the fridge for a couple of days it will absorb the smoke and not be so strong.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

Habanero Smoker