Anyone done a Lechon Asado?

Started by porterdriver, September 30, 2010, 02:20:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

porterdriver

For all of the pork aficionados out there, has anyone made a run at Lechon Asado?  It is one of the great treats for Cubanos, Borequans, or anyone who loves pork.

I have a great traditional recipe but since I'm a newbie I don't have any experience 'converting' recipes to a Bradley recipe.  So I thought I'd check with the graybeards.

classicrockgriller

There have been several that have done Pork Butts with Mojo Criollo, Naranja Agria, Mojo Marinades with adobo.

I don't think what ever recipe you have would be a problem to adapt to the Bradley.

If you have a big pig you want to do, I loan you my La Caja Asadora Box.

KevinG

Never done one, I looked up a couple of recipes and it appears that they usually start off with a pretty high temp 300 to 450 degrees F. That would be too hot for the Bradley, but I did see one that was at 225, which would be possible.
Rodney Dangerfield got his material from watching me.
Learn to hunt deer www.lulu.com/mediabyKevinG

FLBentRider

From the recipe I read I sounds like cuban pulled pork.

If you want to smoke one, I would marinate a pork butt in mojo marinade no more than six hours.

Then Smoke @225F with a couple of hours of smoke, continue @225F until and IT of 195-200F

FTC, pull and eat.

I did a pork butt with a mojo powder rub that came out pretty good. The mojo flavor was subtle.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

classicrockgriller

Ka Honu