Just got the Bradley Digital Smoker!

Started by jshynky, October 04, 2010, 02:17:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jshynky

Hi all,

I am a huge BBQ fan and have been doing my own rubs, bbq sauces and pulled pork, chicken, ribs for a while, but I have never tried smoking before and I have wanted to for a while! Anyways, I just got the Bradley Digital Smoker (4 rack) for an Engagement gift from the fiance (she is awesome). She knows i love bbq :) despite her being a vegetarian. She does eat fish, so i'll have to do up some smoked salmon for her, once I get the hang of it. Anyone have any tips for me on my first outing? I have been reading the forums, and will be opening the box tonight when I get home from work. Not sure what people mean by seasoning it.. but I'm assuming they mean breaking it in.. by using a couple pucks.. to get the smoke into the box? I don't plan on cooking anything today, unless it's something small to just give it a test...

albertapoacher

Hi Jshynky,

Your exactly right about seasoning it. In the booklet that comes with the smoker it explains that you clean the racks and then run a couple briquettes through over the period of an hour. It is very detailed and easy to follow.

If you did want to experiment with smoking something tonight, I myself did a block of aged cheddar with one cherry briquette. As I just opened up my new smoker last night, I just went through the same experience haha.

Right now I have some Coho on and just about to start marinating a second batch.

Enjoy and have fun with it!

Mike

Quarlow