How big should a chimney be?

Started by Rugbynut, November 03, 2010, 10:51:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rugbynut

Hi all

I am glad I found this forum. I am new to smoking and attempting to build myself a unit in the UK using a catering fridge a standard smoke generator in my shed. As such it would appear that I have no draw to suck the smoke in to the chamber much like a lot of other posts!! I was therefore considering attaching a small chimney to the outside. My worry is that I will create too much draw and just lose all of the smoke! I was contemplating a 4inch pipe and it will be about 2 foot long. Do you think this would be ok? Any help would be gratefully received and I must say some of the set ups I have seen here are amazing!!

Thank you

Rugbynut

ArnieM

Hi RN and welcome to the forum!

I don't think you'll have any problems with what you described.  Some members have put an inline fan in the stack to help move out the smoke and moisture.
-- Arnie

Where there's smoke, there's food.

beefmann

i would run a 4 inch vent , you  would want it larger then the  top vent of the Bradley, If you are venting from inside the  garage or Simular structure i would  take the vent pipe above the  roof  line to avoid any discolorations  to your  home and put a rain cap on the top to help  with weather conditions and keep birds out

ArnieM

Mine simply vents out of the garage door.  That's 6 inch material.

-- Arnie

Rugbynut

Cheers guys. I will try the chimney with put the fan and see what happens.

Rugbynut

RAF128

Mine is a 4" vent too but here it gets too cold to vent it out the door and leave it open so I did this

Jsouthco

Hi RAF128,

That chimney attachment is exactly what I need to do here in the UK to vent my DBS4 out through the garage wall also. A few questions:
How have you connected it to the top of the smoker box?
How do you control the top vent (or do you just leave it half open or all the way open?