Venison Snack Stick From Start To finish...help

Started by dAWGS, November 11, 2010, 07:15:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dAWGS

ok im sure its on here somewhere but i cant seem to find it.  i need a recipe and the procedure/process  to make venison snack sticks.   PLEASE be as detailed as possible.  im a newbie and i wanna learn and understand

do i hang or lay the sticks?   do i use smoke?  how much?  what kind?  temp?  time?  what type of casing?   size?

im all ears

thanks

rcger

I'm sure that someone with more know how than me will reply, but I'm going to following the recipe found at this link...
http://www.askthemeatman.com/ac_legg_snack_stick_recipe.htm
There's room for all of God's critters right next to the mashed taters and gravy!

goblism

I am curious myself, tried a batch of 10lbs last spring and they were an epic fail.  I finished stuffing 25lbs tonight and plan on smoking them on Saturday.  Tastes good so far.  Also have 20lbs of summer sausage ready to be cooked.

RAF128

I've made quite a bit of snack sticks from venison.    First off you have to have a recipe or a mix of prebought spices.    I've used the Hi Mountain ones and they're good.   Others swear by the L.E.M. kits.    Lately I've bought pre mixed spices from the butcher shop I use and they're the best so far.   Make sure there's cure in the mix and if not get some cure #1, prague powder or what ever it's called where you are.
You ratio of meat is important.   I use a mix of 70% lean venison and 30% pork.   The pork I buy is call 50/50.   Half meat and half fat.   Make sure you trim the fat off you venison.  Grind it all up and mix well with the spices.   Most kits require you add cold water.    After it's all mixed, stuff it into your casings.   I prefer the coligen casings.   They're easy to use.    After they're stuffed, put them in the fridge for at least 12 hrs.    Give time for the cure to do it's thing.