Cure for Salmon & other seafoods

Started by RJR1876, August 15, 2005, 08:47:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RJR1876

Hi, all smokers! I'm a newbie in smoking, and have learned a lot from this forum. I would like to smoke some salmon this weekend, but after reading all the recipes here, I found that all of them use sea-salt or kosher salt, but not curing salt. Won't botulism be a serious risk in smoking salmon or other seafoods (trout, oyster,...)? Why no one is adding nitrite into the cure? Please help as I sure don't wanna have the best salmon on sunday and find myself in hospital on monday [:D]

Thanks for the advice

whitetailfan

I use a nitrite cure in this recipe
<font color="red">Flatlander Salmon</font id="red">

EDIT to make the link prettier.

<font color="green">whitetailfan</font id="green">
"Nice Rack"
Lethbridge, AB
Vegetarian is an ancient aboriginal word meaning "lousy hunter"
We have enough youth...how about a fountain of smart?
Living a healthy lifestyle is simply choosing to die at the slowest possible rate.

Habanero Smoker

You did not state if you were going to cold or hot smoke the salmon. In most cases hot smoking does not require nitrates or nitrites, because you fully cook the fish. If you handle the food properly, follow the recipes; food borne poisioning or illness is not an issue.

Even if you look at the recipe for loxs (which are cold smoked), there are no nitrates or nitrites used. The amount of salt, and the length of time you cure is enough.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

jaeger

Welcome to the forum R!!!
If you want a ready mix of cure for salmon, check out High Mountain Salmon Brine. You could also try a half and half batch to give it a test.

<font size="4"><b>Doug</b></font id="size4">

RJR1876