Pork Butt (Boston Butt) not in the UK!

Started by Jsouthco, February 25, 2011, 04:30:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jsouthco

Hi All,

Newbie here which explains my inexperience at identifying cuts of meat so please be gentle!

Well I've been to 2 different butchers and straight to the pig farmer in the UK and none of them had ever heard of a Pork Butt or Boston Butt! So I took some images off the web and printed it to take to the butcher to show him. He then said he knew the cut but by a different name and had some boned in cryopack bag. As I wanted bone in he proceeded to get a fresh pig out of his cool box to take the Butt off the shoulder for me (I thought). When i got it home I'm not sure it's the right cut as it has a knuckle in it (i.e. from the shoulder joint) and a bone which doesn't feel like a blade to me. It certainly doesn't have a blade showing and is not as uniform as the cuts I've seen here.
It also cost me £20 (around $30) so its currently in the smoker and I'm cooking it as a normal Butt and will pull it when it gets to 190-200f, FTC it for a few hours and see what happens   ???  !! Hope it comes out OK as I have 8 people turning up tomorrow to watch a rugby match - though I have 6 racks of baby backs going in the DBS4 in the morning as a contingency!

Can any of my fellow UK smokers comment as to where they source their Butt's from and what kind of price they pay for them. Not even the butchers as Costco knew what I was after and I've certainly not seen them in any supermarkets over here. The closest I've seen in any of those is a rolled shoulder.

If anyone else wants to chip in outside the UK also please feel free.

Thanks for your help.

BR,

John.

Tenpoint5

John maybe this illustration will help you some. It sounds like you got the lower portion of the front leg called the Picnic.

Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!