cleaning the OBS

Started by Rad Rich, March 05, 2011, 10:53:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rad Rich

Hey guys,
Doing baby back ribs today gonna use the 3-2-1 method I have read about.  Got the obs around christmas time and have smoked quite a lot with awesome results.  I have received so much great advise.  Inside of the obs is getting really used looking.  Besides cleaning the drip tray and the bowl and bottom tray, what else should I be doing to keep the obs in tip top condition?  Should I ever clean the walls or around the heating element?  It's getting kind of grungy in there.  I have probably smoked at least 20 times in it.  I am keeping the door seals clean.

Smokin is only bad for you when you inhale.

devo

I'm no expert but from what i read you should keep the smoke generator clean, door seal which your doing and if its starting to flake on the walls or door just take an old newspaper and rub it off. Grungie looking is good from what I read.

monty

personally i would never clean the walls of the smoker and like to keep it "seasoned".

for what it's worth here's what i clean in my Bradley:

v-tray
bowl
bottom tray (occasionally)
smoke generator feed
door seal
vent
Bradley Original Smoker BT1S1
Auber PID WS-1200CPH
Traeger Lil' Tex BBQ070
Char-Broil Big Easy Infrared Fryer 10101480
Napoleon Ultra Chef UP405RB

Habanero Smoker

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Rad Rich

Thanks guys.  I was kind of worried about the heating element and the reflector thing buy it.  There is starting to be a little build up of crud on that reflector shield, and a little bit of crud on the element.  Sounds like I should leave those parts alone though.

beefmann

Rich,

Along with cleaning the racks, v tray, drip pan and keeping the smoke generator clean, Clean around the heating elements to keep the grease fires down or from happing. also look for any flaking from build up  and remove that , and any excessive grease build up.

TedEbear