Wild Temperature Swings in DBS

Started by TimE916, March 12, 2011, 05:48:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TimE916

Hi all,

I've been using the Digital Bradley 4 rack for about 9 months now.  I have pretty good luck overall,  but lately I've been having inconsistent smoking times - generally much longer than expected.  For example, I'm smoking a 6 lb pork butt today, I've been smoking it since about 9:00 AM, it's now 5:30 PM - so 8-1/2 hours, and I'm still at about 160 Internal Meat Temp.  It has been in the mid-60's with no wind, and it's sitting on a table on my patio in the direct sun.
I just purchased the new Maverick wireless, so I can now monitor the temp of the smoker as well as the food.  I was surprised to see large and fast temperature swings in the smoker.  I set it for 225, and I've seen it swing up to as high as 265, and as low as 180 according to the Maverick.  On the other hand the display on the smoke generator shows it fairly steady, going between 200 to 235.  I'm suspecting something isn't quite right here...  ???
I've read all about using a PID etc... but frankly after dropping so much on the smoker, I would have expected a little better temp control.  I'm not too excited about dropping more money on a PID...  What I am hoping is maybe some input on some things to check.  My gasket appears to be intact - at least I don't see any smoke leaking out anywere.
Anybody have some other ideas?  Do I need to be reaching out to tech support?  Is there something I should be cleaning?  Or NOT cleaning?
Any help would be VERY appreciated!

I'm getting hungry!
Bradley 4 Rack Smoker
Weber Style Wireless Meat Thermometer
White Hall 3 Burner Grill

GusRobin

temp swings are pretty normal for the DBS. Same with your kitchen oven. Sometime set your oven for 300 and put the maverick in there and you will see some big swings.