Probably the millionth time it has been asked

Started by OneBallBiscuit, May 10, 2011, 05:55:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OneBallBiscuit

First, this is my first time posting. LOVE this forum. Been a great tool in researching to figure out what smoker to purchase.

Pretty much boiled it down to the Digital 4 rack smoker, but now I am reading a ton about this PID with the Original Smoker. Here goes...what is a PID and what does it do? I guess, I just need to know exactly what the PID does and how much of a pain it is to install and why that route is better than a Digital one where everything is already built in.

Thanks a lot for any replies and looking forward to being a part of the forum.

hal4uk

"proportional–integral–derivative" controller --- A PID can be used for a number of processes, but for smoking, it controls temps.
I have a different kind than most of the folks here --- someone will be along to explain the ones you're seeing in various posts.

No Swine Left Behind KCBS BBQ Team
Peoria Custom Cookers "Meat Monster"
Lang Clone - 'Blue October'
Original Bradley Smoker
MAK 1 Star General
Traeger Lil' Tex
Backwoods Chubby

Louie_Sausage

I'm no expert and dont own a PID YET.... but heres a link to one of the more popular ones.

http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=8&products_id=151&zenid=6abef99ff8dea41a25c13b1d15ebb430

From what I understand, the PID controls your heating element to keep temps within 1-2 degrees as opposed to the wild temp swings of the one that comes built in to the Digital Bradley Smoker (DBS)..... can be anywhere from 10-30 degree swings.

Also, from reading here on the forums, its not too necessary to own one unless your smoking sausage (and something else, can't remember) which requires a more constant temp.

If your just smoking butts, ribs, chicken and such, the DBS right out of the box will be fine.

I'm sure an expert will be by shortly with a little more info :)