Which smoker to buy???

Started by haagy65, October 22, 2005, 04:50:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

haagy65

Hello  I am new to this hobby & love to make jerky in my lil chief!  I am considering the bradley & smokin tex & cook shack, I really enjoy jerky & an occasional smoked fish, which is a better smoker?  Is it a pain to keep ordering the wood biscuits?  Thx for your help! Jim

car54

Welcome,
The Bradley offers consistent results, easy to use and a full drip pan for easy clean up. When I 1st bought mine, I wondered if I made the right decision.  Well I did make the right decision and I don't regret it at all. The wood bisquits are not a pain. You can buy them in bulk. They are the reason for the Bradley's consistency. Generally you only smoke for 4 hours so you don't use that many.

Good luck, Brad

Oldman

haagy65,

First greetings. Next there are several items I use much less than 4 hours of smoke.

Over the years if it is out there I've owned it, made it, or stole an idea, and can say that the Bradley without a doubt is the best home smoker I've ever had. Now I've made improvements to my unit. However, these improvements are not needed and most of us here have not made them. These improvements you will not find on a home smoker by any company. i.e. circulation fan, and now I'm adding a PID controller.

Nevertheless, be forewarned. The Bradley has moving parts and things do break or just go bad.  The warranty on the Bradley and how they treat items under warranty is second to none.  I had two items (I purchased last year 3 units) that broke. Within 48 hours of calling Bradley the replacement parts where at my front door! Man o man that is what I call service.