900 Watt or Dual Element

Started by JML54, June 30, 2011, 02:57:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JML54

Hi all
Looking to tap your expertise.  I am new to the Bradley smoker.  Really happy with it so far.  Most of my problems can be attributed to operator error.  My smoking experience is limited to an old refrigerator and a Weber kettle.  I live in Montana and will be looking to smoke in 20 to 30 degree weather when winter rolls around.  I have seen many references to 90 watt and dual element heaters.  Is there an advantage to one over the other?  Is there a cost consideration?  Is one more reliable?  I did take the time to set my Bradley (original model) up with a PID and cold smoke adapter.
Thanks for your input.
Joe

GBIceman

I looked into the 900 watt elements, the ones posted here were pretty exspensive. 200 dollar range if I recall correctly. That is alot of single 500 watt elements. I installed the second element with on/off switch, also have aber dual probe pid. At least if one element goes bad you got the spare already installed. I have been very happy with the dual element and was not exspenive to get.
Ice fishing rocks

If you are going to be stupid, you better be tough.

Habanero Smoker

Though I never installed a 900w heater, the dual heater option seems much simpler and you have the additional wattage. I converted mine two years ago and never had any problems.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

beefmann

I have  done a 900 watt heater mod ,

The heater is $ 48 and change through Grainger.
http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/TEMPCO-SS-Heater-2XDW1?Pid=search

and love the additional reserve heat  reserves, also added in a blower.  yes adding in another Element from bradley  is a much simpler process in one way, though you  have to pull an additional set of wires to it.

here is  what i did for my heater / blower set up, Pid Timer controller.

heater mod:

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=17329.0