Yet another brisket newb question.

Started by Mach1, July 28, 2011, 06:38:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mach1

I'm going to do my first brisket tomorrow and have to admit I'm kinda nervous. How open do I need to open the vent? I have a 7lb flat how long do I need to plan on letting it smoke/cook for? I'm planning on smoking for 4 hrs, so how much total time should I plan on we are having some friends over and I don't want everyone setting around for hours on end waiting, so I need to decide about when I need to start it.

Thanks you guys have been awesome.

EDinNB

I'd run the vent 1/2 open, and plan on 11 hrs min to get it to an IT of 185-195, probably it will take a couple of hrs longer, but should't excede 15, then you should wrap it in foil, then in towls and put it in a dry cooler for 2-4 hrs so the juices can redistribute.

PS I'm a rookie too and I suggest you read read and read thes forums, search out a subject and read all you can...

(Did I learn properly boys?)

EDinNB

DTAggie

Mach1 - my vent is sealed open!  Everything I do uses a fully open vent.  As Ed said, probably a minimum of 11 hrs.   Do 4 hrs of smoke since this is your first go.  Empty the water bowl and refresh with water.  Cook with a cabinet temp of around 225*.  Hopefully you have a meat probe to measure the internal temp (IT*) of the meat.  Since it is a flat, I would not go above an IT of 185*.  When it hits that temp, do like Ed said.  Wrap in foil, then a towel and place in a cooler or your microwave to sit.  I have let a brisket sit in FTC (foil, towel, cooler) for up to 4 to 5 hours and still be piping hot when I unwraped it.  FTC lets you start early and have some wiggle room to make sure it is done before company arrives.

I would place the meat on the top or second from top rack.  Do not place on bottom rack!

mr5150

Hello All,