Design for ColdFusion Temp Controller with Relay

Started by KosherSmokin, November 17, 2005, 06:35:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KosherSmokin

Hi everybody,
Here's my design for the ColdFusion temp controller with a high-current relay.
Because I'm not an engineer, I leaned towards a conservative design.
For the relay I used a gourmet, overpriced, 25A Crouzet, complete with touch-safe exterior and on-indicator LED!
I used this relay for two reasons:
    1. So that there would be NO excuse for it to break because of my relay
    2. So there would be minimal heat produced, especially because of the possibly rapid (10X/Sec) switching rate of the ColdFusion.
I posted to the Crouzet forum and they said it was completely within their spec. and I could rely on 10 million switching operations before it breaks.
Here's where I found the relay online (Part # 84137011):
http://www.onlinecomponents.com/search3z.cfm?Unique_ID=30258311

I wrote up the design first as a schematic, then as a wiring diagram, to make sure I would never have more than two wires to a post (they wouldn't fit!).
Schematic:

Wiring Diagram:

Finished Product (With the cover off):

The hardest part of the job was all the mounting and connections.
The other goal of my design was to make the connections as modular as possible, so I wouldn't have to worry about dragging a heavy cable along with me when I move the box.
I used female quick-disconnects which seemed to fit the thermocouple blades just fine, and a computer-style power jack.
Connectors (yes my office is a mess):

If I can't find a thicker 16-gauge computer-style cable (I only have 18-gauge), I'll probably switch it out for a normal male plug like the female on the right.

Please let me know what you think or if have any questions/problems.
As for controlling the Bradley, before coming up with this design I had another idea.