Not getting hot?

Started by Wilbur, September 04, 2011, 01:04:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wilbur

I'm trying to do some jerky, this morning when I warmed up the smoker the door thermometer was about 200 and that's with the slider to max,  now I can't get it over 100.
I can touch the main heater element which I've read on here is sposed to be 500 watts? Mine is an old smoker but I hardly use it, lools to me like the element is glass?  Seems the only heat I'm getting is from the burner for the pucks.

I had a problem years ago with the heat control slider thing, put in a new one and up till now it's been fine, but then again I only use it 1 or 2 times per year.

When I move the slider to OFF the light stays on, when I move it to max it doesn't really get much brighter, so that would mean the slider is shot again, right?

This is my first time back to this forum in years, are these things prone to problems or wast? In the meantime I'm finishing the jerky in the oven, what a PITA!

classicrockgriller

You can try unplugging the connection plug from the back of the

smoke generator and plugging it into the back of the cabinet to

see if your element gets hot.

If it does then the problem lies in the smoke generator.

You might want to check out our FAQ's

http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?481-Bradley-Smoker-FAQ-s&p=748#post748

Wilbur

Nothing, tested the element with an ohm meter, wide open, guess I need a new one.
Guess I'll be smoking my next batch of jerky in the Bradly, drying it in the oven, doing 2 batches today..

In a nutshell what are all these heater mods people are talking about?
Is there a 500 and a 900 watt element available now?

TedEbear

Quote from: Wilbur on September 04, 2011, 03:11:06 PMIn a nutshell what are all these heater mods people are talking about?
Is there a 500 and a 900 watt element available now?