Hatchery Trout...

Started by bpnclark, September 21, 2011, 08:31:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bpnclark

The kids caught some huge trout out of a hatchery in July. When I was cleaning them, the hatchery food in their bellies made me not want to eat them, so I decided I'm going to smoke them!   

They are 5-7 lb rainbows. I cut the heads and tails off them (which I have never done before) and sealed them and froze them. I'm now ready to try them with Boutch's recipe.   

One question – Should I half them, quarter them or leave them whole?

grnhs

I found that boning them first gives the best end product, then cut them in the size chunks you want. Make sure to get the pin bones too.
Hope this helps

Quarlow

I always do filets whole and yes get those pin bones out. You will be glad you did later when you go to eat it. Kummock likes to cut his filets into about 2 inch wide strips. I am going to try that next time.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

Habanero Smoker

If you are using  Boutch's recipe (good choice); I generally will brine whole fillets with the skin still attached. Since your fillets are small, compared to the type of trout Boutch brines, you will need to cut your brining time down. Use the 5 - 7 seven hours mentioned in the recipe, or if they are really thin use 4 hours.

Definitely remove the pin bones.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

bpnclark

Thanks guys. I'm taking them out of the freezer now. I'll take some pics from start to finish and see how everything turns out. This is my first time time trying to smoke fish.

Quarlow

Don't over cook them. We like ours on the dry side but I have found I am liking it a bit moister. Rotate those racks about every half hour for those trout.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ