Need to Get This Right - Four Butts

Started by oneminer, May 24, 2011, 12:30:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oneminer

Hello fellow BOS Users.  I have a graduation party this weekend and need to have some boston butts ready for pulling at 3 pm sharp.  Expecting about 50 adults and want to have left overs so I was planning on four butts.  I have never done four before, so could use some advice on my plans.  With 4 butts in the BOS how can I maintain a temp of 225F in the cabinet?

day before
11:00 pm remove butts from refigerator and dry rub.  let come to room temp.

1:00 pm place butts in preheated BOS.  Use maverick temp probes.  Apple pucks.

7:00 pm remove puck from smoke generator.  Clean out old pucks.  Add fresh hot water.

10:00 pm rotate racks

day of party
6:00 am rotate racks

10:00 am to 2:00 pm  remove and FTC as temp of each butt reaches 185F

3:00 pm  pull pork from each butt as needed and keep warm on steam table.

Several sauces on the side, and many happy guests.

Advice appreciated, especially with regard to the length of time, need to rotate butts, etc.
Thanks
Oneminer

KyNola

This is just my opinion and others more knowledgeable than me will come along to give you better advice but I would back up your schedule by 6 hours or so.  I would start much earlier.  If you finish early, you can always FTC those butts.  4 butts is a load in a Bradley and it will take a long time for the Bradley to come up to temp when you put the butts in initially and will also take a long time to recover each time you open the door for anything.  The major variable you haven't mentioned are the butts themselves.  I've had them to finish in 16 hours and I have had them take as long as 26 hours.  If you need to serve at 3 sharp, you need to allow yourself some wiggle room.

jimmyb